CD The Groove Boutique, Vol. 1: A Seamless Blend of Smooth Jazzy Grooves (CD 843302),
back to browsing

The Groove Boutique, Vol. 1: A Seamless Blend of Smooth Jazzy Grooves

  • 1. Body Tight - Orange Factory
    2. Tilt - Clan Greco
    3. Rhode Trip - Slide Five
    4. Headhunting - The Headhunters
    5. All Around the World - Ramsey Lewis
    6. Lizards - Jimjam
    7. So Lucios - Copa 7
    8. One Day Deep - Praful
    9. Ne-Ne - Soulive
    10. Looking Fine - Alfonzo Blackwell
    11. Last Three Minutes, The - Chris Botti
    12. Spirit - Monet
    13. Icy - Rafe Gomez
    14. Naturally - Slow Train Soul
    15. I Will - Rebecca
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 1587

  • Credits
    ProducerChristian Jones; David Baron; Daniel Testas; Massimo Greco; Gil Small; Frayne Lewis; Algeny Gomes; Eric Peter Krasno; Slide Five; Paulinho; Rob Gaasterland; Jeremy Skaller; John Hill; Laila; Alan Evans; Alfonzo Blackwell; Neal Evans; Ohm Guru; Praful; Soulive; Steve Lindsey; Jimjam

    Personnel: Machan (vocals, guitar); Gil Small (vocals); Wah-Wah Watson (guitar); Praful (flute, tenor saxophone, Wurlitzer organ, log drum); Monet (flute); Bennie Maupin (tenor saxophone); Glenn Kaye (trumpet); Harvey Mason, Jr. (keyboards, drums); Bill Summers (percussion).
    Audio Mixers: Daniel Testas; Rob Gaasterland; Praful.
    Recording information: Edison Studios.
    Arrangers: Daniel Testas; M. Nichol; Rob Gaasterland; Alfonzo Blackwell; Praful.
    The Groove Boutique, Vol. 1: A Seamless Blend of Smooth Jazzy Grooves is the natural extension of producer and compiler Rafe Gomez's nationally syndicated radio program, The Groove Boutique. Gomez is easy on the ears, concocting a particularly summery set of bubbling-under cookers and shimmering smooth jazz cuts by an interesting array of artists. There are a slew of the well-known funky assemblages by the Headhunters ("Headhunting"), Chris Botti ("The Last Three Minutes"), and Ramsey Lewis ("All Around the World") that anchor the set, but a host of other moments here really get it off. The album opens with Orange Factory's sultry, slippery "Body Tight," which is matched only by Praful's honeyed saxophone shimmy on "One Day Deep." In addition, Soulive's contribution, "Ne-Ne," embodies the entire spirit of soul-jazz past, present, and future with its in-the-pocket snare and sax swagger. The 4/4 loopy and funky soul on Alfonso Blackwell's "Looking Fine" is a treat, as is Gomez's own mix assemblage, "Icy." This set may not be for hardcore jazz fans or anything, but it certainly fits a summery chillout bill. ~ Thom Jurek

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $16.94
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for