CD The Headphone Masterpiece [PA] [724101700125] (CD 914796),
back to browsing

The Headphone Masterpiece [PA] [724101700125]

    1. Magic in a Mortal Minute
    2. With Me in Mind
    3. Upstarts in a Blowout
    4. Boylife in America
    5. Bitch, I'm Broke
    6. Serve This Royalty
    7. Seed, The
    8. Enough of Nothing
    9. Setting the System
    10. Most Beautiful Shame, The
    11. Smoke and Love
    12. Michelle
    13. No One Will
    14. Batman vs. Blackman
    15. Up in the Treehouse
    16. Can't Get No Betta
    17. She's Still Here
    18. Can We Teach Each Other
    19. World Is Coming to My Party, The
    20. Brother With an Ego
    21. War Between the Sexes
    22. Make Up, The
    23. Out of Nowhere
    1. Family on Blast
    2. My Women, My Guitars
    3. Somebody's Parent
    4. When I Find Time
    5. Eric Burdon
    6. Juicin' the Dark
    7. 5 on a Joyride
    8. Daylight
    9. So Much Beauty in the Subconscious
    10. Daddy's Baby
    11. If We Don't Disagree
    12. Look Good in Leather
    13. 6 Seconds
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 7001

  • Credits
    ProducerCody Chesnutt
    EngineerCody Chesnutt

    This is an Enhanced CD, which contains both regular audio tracks and multimedia computer files.
    Personnel includes: Cody ChestnuTT, Craig Waters, Sharif Dumani, Aaron Ebenspurger, Chris Winston, Troy Taroy, Alonzo "Freestyle" Catia.
    Recorded at The Sonic Promiseland, Valley Village, California.
    The title of this lengthy, two-disc affair may be a bit misleading; it might suggest some sort of Prince-like construction full of finely wrought sonic details and painstaking production. In fact, the opposite is true--it's a raw, minimalistic, lo-fi effort that has the immediacy of home demo recordings. Fortunately, it's that very quality that has endeared Cody ChesnuTT (the weird capitalization is his idea, folks) to a panoply of critics, earning him a spot on countless best-of-2002 lists. Still, THE HEADPHONE MASTERPIECE didn't hit the album charts until 2003, possibly helped by exposure through touring with the Roots.
    While this is a genre-spanning affair that incorporates pop, rock, soul, funk, and hip-hop in roughly equal measures, it's a million miles from the neo-soul of a Maxwell or D'Angelo. In terms of sonic context, ChesnuTT is more aligned with mercurial four-track scamps like Guided by Voices, churning out songs and snippets without any grand scheme in mind. Attitude-wise though, he seems to be coming from the hip-hop mindset, as the dominant lyrical preoccupations are world-beating braggadocio and the unabashed celebration of social and personal improprieties of every stripe. Whether you call Cody ChesnuTT pop, soul, or hip-hop, one thing is apparent from listening to the HEADPHONE MASTERPIECE; the man's got rock-star confidence to spare.

  • Critic Reviews
    Rolling Stone (12/26/02, p.104) - Ranked #5 in Rolling Stone's list of 2002's "10 Best Debuts"
    Rolling Stone (10/3/02, p.104) - 4 stars out of 5 - "...One of the most emotionally raw albums of the year..."
    Spin (1/03, p.73) - Ranked #37 on Spin's list of 2002's "Albums of the Year" - "...Think Guided By Voices on a Remy Martin bender with Shuggie Otis and you're still not there..."
    Uncut (01/04, pp.84-7) - Ranked #38 in Uncut's "Albums Of The Year 2003"
    Uncut (6/03, p.91) - 5 stars out of 5 - "...Although decidedly lo-fi, this epic, adventurous and mischievous album bears comparison with Prince and Todd Rundgren....This is an album of the year..."
    Mojo (Publisher) (9/03, p.106) - 3 stars out of 5 - "...At once engaging and aloof, the record entices you closer yet keeps its distance, its often hamfisted production and errant vocals adding to its ramshackle, rusticated charms..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $9,999.00
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for