CD Trust the DJ: PA01 (CD 1222569),
back to browsing

Trust the DJ: PA01

  • 1. Truth, Pt. 2, The
    2. Pra Manha - (New Sector Movements Mix)
    3. Bohemian - (Bah Samba Main Mix)
    4. Work It
    5. Move on Up - (Opaque Remix)
    6. Beau Mot Plage
    7. Earth Is the Place - (Restless Soul Peaktime Mix)
    8. All My Circuits
    9. Into Something
    10. Beautiful
    11. Tell Him
    12. Second Nature
    13. Ladies
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 20

  • Credits
    ProducerIG Culture; Orin Walters; Felix Hopkins; DJ Muro; Scott Clifford; Thy Lord; Agent K; Mark de Clive-Lowe; Modaji; Seiji; Bah Samba; Phil Asher
    EngineerMatt Lord; Felix Hopkins

    TRUST THE DJ, from popular U.K. house producer Phil Asher, includes "Truth Pt. 2", "Move On Up" , and 11 other origianls and remixes.
    Personnel: Phil Asher (synthesizer); Alice Russell, Verna Francis (vocals); Mark Ralph (guitar); Ken Barry (electric guitar); Ian Price (flute, tenor saxophone); Gary Kavanaugh (trumpet, flugelhorn); Agent K (Fender Rhodes piano, keyboards, bass synthesizer, drums); Nathan Haines (Fender Rhodes piano); Julien Bendall (keyboards); Danny Huckridge (acoustic bass); Cameron Undy (electric bass); Tristan Banks (drums, percussion); Williams Cumberbache (percussion); Alex Phountzi, Seiji (programming).
    Audio Mixers: IG Culture; Felix Hopkins.
    Audio Remixers: Seiji; Bah Samba.
    Liner Note Author: Phil Asher.
    Recording information: FLUIDITY Studios; The BitaSuite; Wespoint, London, England.
    Arranger: Orin Walters.
    Phil Asher's first Trust the DJ set nearly rivals Alex Attias' The Selector Series, Vol. 1 as the best representation of West London's broken beat movement, circa 2002. The broken beat tracks that Asher highlights here are the kind that flirt with downtempo and deep house -- as opposed to the techno and electro-informed productions kicked out by the likes of Colin Lindo's Nubian Mindz and several others. There's no doubting Asher's mixing skills. What this comes down to are the selections and the sequencing, both of which are in fine form. If there's anything about this mix that should be applauded, it's that it ably demonstrates broken beat's versatility. Asher has no trouble fitting Isole's bonkers microhouse gem "Beau Mot Plage" between Opaque's mix of Mark de Clive-Lowe's "Move on Up" and Nathan Haines' "Earth Is the Place." A wild ragga/Afro-beat hybrid (Afronaught's "Work It"); a hyperactive, but still faithful, cover of an Eighties Ladies rare-groove classic (BB Boogie's "Tell Him"); and a riptide of projectile percussion, synths, and horns (Seiji's "Second Nature") all have a place. The energy level is kept high throughout, making it all but impossible to stay in one place while listening to this disc. ~ Andy Kellman

0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $9,999.00
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for