CD Twenty [Boyz II Men] [602527816692] (CD 15807520),
back to browsing

Twenty [Boyz II Men] [602527816692]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Believe
    2. So Amazing
    3. Put Some Music On
    4. Slowly
    5. More Than You'll Ever Know
    6. I Shoulda Lied
    7. Benefit of a Fool
    8. Refuse to Be the Reason
    9. One More Dance
    10. Will You Be There
    11. Flow
    12. One Up for Love
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Motownphilly
    2. On Bended Knee
    3. Four Seasons of Loneliness
    4. Water Runs Dry
    5. Song for Mama, A
    6. It's So Hard to Say Goodbye
    7. I'll Make Love to You
    8. End of the Road
    9. Not Like You
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 2781669

  • Credits

    Personnel: Marc Offenbach, John Dee, Kevin Gasser.
    Recording information: Brandon's Way Recording, Los Angeles, CA; Flyte Tyme Studios, Santa Monica, CA; Glenwood Studios, Burbank, CA; Mad House Studios; The Enemy Dojo, Calabasas, CA; Wirlwide Studios, Atlanta, GA; Wyman Records; Wyman Studios, Burbank, CA.
    Photographer: Gitte Meldgaard.
    Disc one of Twenty constitutes Boyz II Men's first full-length set of original material since 2002's Full Circle, an album released just prior to the departure of bass vocalist Michael McCary. The title here isn't the only manner in which the group acknowledges its longevity. They work with past collaborators such as Tim & Bob, Teddy Riley, and Babyface, each of whom either produces or co-produces three tracks. Rather than attempt to compete with younger acts on the charts, they largely stick to their tried and true approach and appeal to their longtime listeners. Some of the slower songs get a little raunchy, but most of them -- highlighted by "More Than You'll Ever Know," featuring Charlie Wilson -- switch between romantic pleading and uplifting/inspirational modes. It's their most enjoyable work since 2000's Nathan Michael Shawn Wanya. On the second disc, Boyz II Men cover themselves. In some cases, the new looks at their hits are closer to re-creations than reinterpretations, with only slight variations on the vocal and instrumental arrangements. That Boyz II Men still have it, both individually and collectively, is undeniable; their group harmonies sound as easy as ever. That's what they had over most contemporary R&B acts in 1991, and that's what they have over all of them in 2011. ~ Andy Kellman

  • Critic Reviews
    Entertainment Weekly (p.75) - "[With] 12 new songs that highlight the now-trio's dazzling street-corner harmonies and unwavering devotion to '90s-style scented-candle slow jams." -- Grade: B
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $11.42
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for