CD 24 Carat Purple [Remaster] (CD 927119),
back to browsing

24 Carat Purple [Remaster]

  • 1. Woman from Tokyo
    2. Fireball
    3. Strange Kind of Woman
    4. Never Before
    5. Black Night
    6. Speed King
    7. Smoke on the Water
    8. Child in Time
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 534692

  • Credits

    The sounds of Deep Purple helped shape the heavy metal landscape, and few have managed to match the primal roar of the band at its height. 24 CARAT PURPLE is an eight-track romp through the Deep Purple sound.
    Personnel: Ian Gillan (harmonica); Roger Glover (synthesizer).
    The first compilation conceived by Deep Purple as opposed to the band's record company, 24 Carat Purple appropriately stands proud, among what is now a landslide of collections and hits packages, as a flawless representation of the band's Mark II identity at its very best. The Made in Japan double live album consumes much of the single disc's body weight -- the epic renditions of "Smoke on the Water," "Child in Time," and "Strange Kind of Woman" are, after all, among Deep Purple's most resonant moments, while 24 Carat Purple also lures in collectors with a thunderous "Black Night," recorded at the same shows but omitted from the original album (it has since been appended to the Made in Japan CD remaster). With "Woman in Tokyo," "Fireball," and "Never Before" peeling off recent singles and "Speed King" excerpted from Deep Purple in Rock, 24 Carat Purple truly is a gold-plated depiction of the band at its all-time peak, before Ian Gillan and Roger Glover went their separate ways and an entire new journey kicked off with Burn. ~ Dave Thompson

0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $7.15
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for