CD 25 Years of Celtic Music (CD 1144630),
back to browsing

25 Years of Celtic Music

  • 0. DISC 1: 1976-1996:
    1. Rocky Reels, The - Danta
    2. Ton Bale Mur Ha Dans - Kornog
    3. Aires de Pontevedra - Kips Bay Ceili Band
    4. Fusgail An Dorus / Nighean Bhuidh' Ruadh - Capercaillie
    5. Congress Reel / Down The Broom / Star Of Munster - The Irish Tradition
    6. Dulaman - Altan
    7. Song in F - Touchstone
    8. Archibald McDonald of Keppoch - John Cunningham
    9. Celidh Funk - Phil Cunningham
    10. Houghs of Cromdale, The - Andy M. Stewart/Manus Lunny
    11. Leaving Brittany / The Pernod Waltz - Relativity
    12. Crabs in the Skillet - Brendan Mulvihill
    13. Richard Brenman's / The Bush On The Hill - Mick Moloney
    14. The Boogie Reel / The Controversial Reel - Billy McComiskey
    15. Humours Of Lissadel / Music In The Glen / Johnson's - Joe Derrane
    16. Roarin' Donald / The Man Who Shot The Windmill / A Glint Of Silver - Silly Wizard
    17. Ships Are Sailing - Eileen Ivers
    0. DISC 2: 1997-2000:
    1. McDermott's Reel / The Plough And The Stars / Miss McLeod's Reel - Patrick Street
    2. Lost in the Loop - Liz Carroll
    3. Risipiti / Mairtin O'Connor's - The House Band
    4. Forfar Sodger - Old Blind Dogs
    5. Trucks of Bohermore, The - Reeltime
    6. Genevieve's Waltz - Manus McGuire
    7. Autumn Child / Heaton Chapel - Lnasa
    8. Butterfly, The - Kevin Burke
    9. Rolling In The Barrel / The Morning Dew - Martin Hayes/Dennis Cahill
    10. J-Time - Wolfstone
    11. Paistin Fionn, An - Niamh Parsons
    12. Mooney's Mazurka / Kinloch / The Humours Of Toonagh - Moving Cloud
    13. The Okarina / The Tattoo - Open House
    14. Interceltic Set - The Tannahill Weavers
    15. Dark Island, The - Celtic Fiddle Festival
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 110

  • Credits
    ProducerRob Simonds (Compilation)

    Includes liner notes by Kevin Burke.
    Digitally remastered by Paul Avgerinos (Studio Unicorn).
    American-based Green Linnet Records has been the definitive voice in Celtic music since the mid-'70s, and to celebrate its quarter-century mark, the label released a two-CD set featuring exceptional songs from some of the best loved artists on its roster. Often when labels assemble their best-of collections they end up sounding cobbled together with widely varying sound quality, sounding almost like an afterthought. Fortunately, Green Linnet has broken the mold with 25 Years of Celtic Music, a bright and complete-sounding compilation featuring a list of artists that reads like a who's who of Celtic music from the later part of the 20th century. Among the stellar performers represented are Capercaillie, Altan, Patrick Street, the Tannahill Weavers, Silly Wizard, Eileen Ivers, Mick Moloney, and Liz Carroll, as well as many other influential artists. The two-disc set is broken roughly into two time periods, disc one covering 1976-1996 and the second CD from 1997-2000, but within each disc the label didn't stick to any strict chronological order, presenting and sequencing the songs in a way that flows naturally. Bouncing reels follow moody ensemble pieces and instrumentals follow lush vocal passages, smoothly showcasing the transition from centuries-old traditional folk-based Irish and British songwriting to the electronically infused contemporary Celtic music of the 21st century. From warm, acoustic flute and fiddle kitchen sessions to cool and haunting contemporary compositions, 25 Years of Celtic Music covers all aspects of Celtic music from some of the genre's most talented performers. ~ Zac Johnson

  • Critic Reviews
    Q (6/01, p.123) - 3 stars out of 5 - "...Compiles genre-specific tunes from France and America as well as from Scotland and Ireland, and would make an ideal chaser for those seduced by Hummingbird's recent Gaelic sampler..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $9,999.00
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for