CD A Musical History [Box] (CD 938197),
back to browsing

A Musical History [Box]

  • 1. Who Do You Love?
    2. You Know I Love You
    3. Further on up the Road
    4. Nineteen Years Old
    5. Honky Tonk
    6. Bacon Fat
    7. Robbie's Blues
    8. Leave Me Alone
    9. Uh Uh Uh
    10. He Don't Love You (And He'll Break Your Heart)_
    11. I Want to Be the Rainmaker
    12. Stones I Throw, The
    13. Stones I Throw, The (Will Free All Men)
    14. Go Go Liza Jane
    15. Can You Please Crawl Out Your Window
    16. Tell Me Mama
    17. Just Like Tom Thumbs Blues
    18. Words and Numbers
    19. You Don't Come Through
    20. Beautiful Thing
    21. Caledonia Mission
    22. Odds and Ends
    23. Ferdinand the Imposter
    24. Ruben Remus
    25. Will the Circle Be Unbroken
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Katie's Been Gone
    2. Ain't No More Cane on the Brazos
    3. Don't Ya Tell Henry
    4. Tears of Rage
    5. To Kingdom Come - (full-length version)
    6. In a Station
    7. Weight, The
    8. We Can Talk
    9. Long Black Veil
    10. Chest Fever
    11. Lonesome Suzie - (alternate take)
    12. This Wheel's on Fire
    13. I Shall Be Released
    14. Yazoo Street Scandal
    15. I Ain't Got No Home
    16. Orange Juice Blues
    17. Baby Lou
    18. Long Distance Operator
    19. Key to the Highway
    20. Bessie Smith
    0. DISC 3:
    1. Across the Great Divide
    2. Rag Mama Rag
    3. Night They Drove Old Dixie Down, The
    4. When You Awake
    5. Up on Cripple Creek
    6. Whispering Pines
    7. King Harvest (Has Surely Come)
    8. Get up Jake
    9. Jemima Surrender - (early version)
    10. Daniel and the Sacred Harp - (alternate take)
    11. Time to Kill
    12. All la Glory - (early version)
    13. Shape I'm In, The
    14. Stage Fright
    15. Rumor, The
    16. Slippin' & Slidin'
    17. Don't Do It
    18. Strawberry Wine
    19. Rockin' Chair
    20. Look Out Cleveland
    21. 4% Pantomime - (featuring Van Morrison)
    0. DISC 4:
    1. Life Is a Carnival
    2. When I Paint My Masterpiece
    3. Moon Struck One, The
    4. River Hymn, The
    5. Don't Do It
    6. Caledonia Mission
    7. Smoke Signal
    8. Unfaithful Servant
    9. W.S. Walcott Medicine Show, The
    10. Genetic Method, The
    11. Chest Fever
    12. I Don't Want to Hang up My Rock 'N' Roll Shoes
    13. Loving You (Is Sweeter Than Ever)
    14. Endless Highway
    15. Move Me
    16. Two Piano Song
    17. Mystery Train
    0. DISC 5:
    1. Ain't Got No Home
    2. Share Your Love With Me
    3. Didn't It Rain
    4. Forever Young
    5. Rainy Day Women #12 & 35
    6. Highway 61 Revisted
    7. Ophelia
    8. Acadian Driftwood
    9. It Makes No Difference
    10. Twilight
    11. Christmas Must Be Tonight
    12. Saga of Pepote Rouge, The
    13. Livin' in a Dream
    14. Forbidden Fruit
    15. Home Cookin'
    16. Out of the Blue
    17. Evangeline - (featuring Emmylou Harris)
    18. Night They Drove Old Dixie Down, The
    19. Weight, The - (featuring The Staple Singers)
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 77409

  • Credits
    ProducerRobbie Robertson (Compilation); Cheryl Pawelski (Compilation); Andrew Sandoval (Compilation)

    The Band: Rick Danko (vocals, guitar, bass guitar); Robbie Robertson (vocals, guitar); Levon Helm (vocals, mandolin, drums); Richard Manuel (vocals, piano, drums); Garth Hudson (accordion, saxophone, bugle, organ, keyboards, synthesizer).
    Additional personnel: Emmylou Harris, Bob Dylan (vocals, guitar); Mavis Staples, Roebuck "Pops" Staples, Ronnie Hawkins, Van Morrison (vocals); Roy Buchanan (guitar); Mickey Jones (drums); Dionne Warwick (background vocals).
    Liner Note Author: Rob Bowman.
    This stunning six-disc box set, A MUSICAL HISTORY, traces the evolution of the Band, one of the most towering and influential groups of the late 1960s and early '70s. In the minds of many, the Band came to define the sound of roots-oriented "Americana" rock (though most of its members were, ironically, Canadian). This lovingly assembled collection follows the development of that sound, from their inception as Ronnie Hawkins backing band the Hawks and their tenure with Bob Dylan, through their peak years as the Band, and on to their swan song in 1976, THE LAST WALTZ.
    What makes this set more essential than any prior compilation is not only its obsessive attention to the timeline (the chronological sequencing really does play, as the title states, like a musical history), but the abundance of new material (32 of the 102 cuts here were unreleased). Live versions, covers, alternate takes, rarities, and well-known songs--not to mention a bonus DVD packed with live-performance footage--work together to give a complete picture of this unique ensemble, making A MUSICAL HISTORY the final and definitive word on the Band.

  • Critic Reviews
    Rolling Stone (No. 984, p.158) - 5 stars out of 5 - "...The group's devotees will find much to enjoy on this set, and their pleasures won't be limited to the thirty-seven previously unreleased tracks and film clips...."
    Mojo (Publisher) (p.124) - 4 stars out of 5 - "A lot of great music...CD1 is the most remarkable: 25 songs plotting their transformation from Nuggetsy rock, via R&B, Dylan's band, folk rock and gospel, to that unmistakable Band sound."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $78.28
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for