CD A Sun Came [Remaster] (CD 1002029),
back to browsing

A Sun Came [Remaster]

    1. We Are What You Say
    2. Winner Needs a Wand, A
    3. Rake
    4. Siamese Twins
    5. Demetrius
    6. Dumb I Sound
    7. Wordsworth's Ridge - (For Fran Fike)
    8. Belly Button
    9. Rice Pudding
    10. Loverless Bed, A (W/Out Remission) - (Without Remission)
    11. Godzuki
    12. Super Sexy Woman
    13. Oracle Said Wander, The
    14. Happy Birthday
    15. Jason
    16. Kill
    17. Ya Leil
    18. Sun Came, A
    19. Satan's Saxophones
    20. Joy! Joy! Joy! - (bonus tracks)
    21. You Are the Rake - (bonus tracks)
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 9

  • Credits
    ProducerSufjan Stevens
    EngineerSufjan Stevens

    Includes three previously unreleased bonus tracks and new artwork.
    Personnel: Sufjan Stevens (vocals, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, banjo, sitar, flute, recorder, oboe, alto saxophone, piano, synthesizer, xylophone, bass guitar, percussion); Shannon Stephens, Ghadeer Yaser (vocals); Marzuki Stevens (guitar, tenor saxophone, percussion); Matt Morgan (guitar); Jesse Koskey (drums).
    Singer/songwriter/multi-instrumentalist Sufjan Stevens's 1999 debut album gets bumped up from lo- to mid-fi here, thanks to a 2004 remastering by the Asthmatic Kitty label. For the Sufjan novice, this is a fine place to start, as it features a wide arrays of sounds, including post-prog wooden flutes and recorders, flanged vocals, fuzz guitar, and even quirky sing-alongs (a trademark of Stevens's future frequent collaborator Brother Danielson).
    Gentle piano and acoustic guitar refrains take the sting out of this all-over-the-music-map travelling, soothing the soul on "Dumb I Sound," "Wordsworth's Ridge," and the title track. "A Loverless Bed (W/out Remission)" is so sweet that its wah-wah guitar would sound at home on Tommy James & the Shondells' "Crimson & Clover." "Kill" is softer than an Elliott Smith tune, and Stevens earns his banjo wings on "Happy Birthday." Goofball hijinks like "Super Sexy Woman," "Jason," and the dissonant "Satan's Saxophones" recall early Beck, and help make this sprawling epic of an album sound deceptively cheeky at first, but rest assured, a wondrous and emotionally moving world reveals itself on repeat listens. For fans, the blend of beauty and noise on bonus track "Joy! Joy! Joy!" alone is worth making the upgrade.

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $12.69
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for