CD Artistic Vice [Bonus Tracks] (CD 1357197),
back to browsing

Artistic Vice [Bonus Tracks]

  • 1. My Life Is Starting Over
    2. Honey I Sure Miss You
    3. I Feel So High
    4. Ghostly Story, A
    5. Tell Me Now
    6. Easy Listening
    7. I Know Casper
    8. Startling Facts, The
    9. Hoping
    10. It's Got to Be Good
    11. Happy Soul
    12. Dream Is Over, The
    13. Love of My Life
    14. I Killed the Monster
    15. Laurie
    16. Fate Will Get Done
    17. I Get Depressed When You Undress - (previously unreleased)
    18. I Feel So High - (previously unreleased)
    19. Laurie - (previously unreleased)
    20. Monster Inside of Me, The
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 115

  • Credits

    Personnel: Daniel Johnston (vocals, acoustic guitar); Dale Dudgeon, Tom Gruda, Donny Spencer, Brent Conkle (guitar); Mike West (bass guitar); Fred McMahan (drums).
    Liner Note Author: Kramer.
    Recording information: Chuck Picklesimer's House, WV (07/1991).
    ARTISTIC VICE was the first album on which Daniel Johnston fronted a band. On earlier works, the spare songs received musical accompanied from either a single keyboard or guitar. Johnson's first recordings were made a available in a series of primitively made self-released cassette tapes. These were later compiled onto several albums, including the highly recommended YIP/JUMP MUSIC. Notoriety paved the way for Johnston's first album (titled 1990), which was recorded in a true studio.
    For this set, which was recorded in a house in West Virginia, Johnston assembled a six-piece band (four of whom are guitarists). It's a testament to Johnston's own innate musicality that the songs lend themselves so perfectly to the casual accompaniment heard here. They can shift easily from quiet country balladry to punkish rave ups. As always, his songs are direct, honest, hook-laden, and imminently coverable. One listen to "Tell Me Now" will yield the names of 10 artists who should record it.

  • Critic Reviews
    Option (5/29/92, p.113) - "..naive, brilliant, disturbing, and seductive...This album, like the rest of his catalog, will likely outlive us all.."
    Mojo (Publisher) (p.122) - 4 stars out of 5 - "[T]his is possibly his best album, with some great, if always rather unsettling tunes."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $12.86
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for