CD Atlantic Records 50 Years: The Gold Anniversary (CD 411538),
back to browsing

Atlantic Records 50 Years: The Gold Anniversary

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Yakety Yak - The Coasters
    2. What'd I Say - Ray Charles
    3. Mack the Knife - Bobby Darin
    4. Stand by Me - Ben E. King
    5. In the Midnight Hour - Wilson Pickett
    6. I Got You Babe - Sonny Bono/Cher/Sonny & Cher
    7. When a Man Loves a Woman - Percy Sledge
    8. Respect - Aretha Franklin
    9. Soul Man - Sam & Dave
    10. (Sittin' On) The Dock of the Bay - Otis Redding
    11. Sunshine of Your Love - Cream
    12. Suite: Judy Blue Eyes - David Crosby/Graham Nash/Stephen Stills/Crosby, Stills & Nash
    13. Whole Lotta Love - Led Zeppelin
    14. Brown Sugar - The Rolling Stones
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Layla - Derek & the Dominos
    2. Roundabout - Yes
    3. Freak, Le - Chic
    4. We Are Family - Sister Sledge
    5. Stop Draggin' My Heart Around - Stevie Nicks/Tom Petty
    6. In the Air Tonight - Phil Collins
    7. I Want to Know What Love Is - Foreigner
    8. Wind Beneath My Wings - Bette Midler
    9. Silent All These Years - Tori Amos
    10. Baby - Brandy
    11. Hold My Hand - Hootie & the Blowfish
    12. Who Will Save Your Soul - Jewel
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 83088

  • Credits

    Producers include: Ahmet Ertegun, Jerry Wexler, Jimmy Miller, Nile Rodgers, Arif Mardin.
    Includes liner notes by Dave Marsh.
    All tracks have been digitally remastered using HDCD technology.
    Personnel: Jimmy Page (guitar).
    Liner Note Author: Dave Marsh .
    Unknown Contributor Role: Ted Jensen.
    Adequately covering the rich legacy of Atlantic Records' first 50 years over only two CDs is an impossible task, even concentrating only on rock and R&B, so it would be difficult to expect Atlantic Records 50 Years: Gold Anniversary to offer anything more than a cursory overview. The compilation does illustrate the incredible depth and diversity of talent that the label has maintained over the years, even if it doesn't come anywhere near a coherent presentation of that talent. Instead, 50 Years skims a sampling of some of the best and best-known songs from throughout the company's history. The first disc concentrates primarily on Atlantic's rich catalog of R&B and soul music from the '50s and '60s (a greater portion of which easily filled a hugely entertaining nine-CD box set) and moves into seminal rock legends like Cream, CSNY, Led Zeppelin, and the Rolling Stones -- all represented by only one song apiece. The second disc is wildly varied, featuring prog-rock from Yes, a couple of disco hits, and mainstream pop/rock from the '80s, as well as a few selections from Atlantic's most popular '90s artists (Tori Amos, Hootie and the Blowfish, Brandy, Jewel). So the problem certainly isn't with the quality of the music; it's just that there are so many different musical styles represented here that the set can't present them in any sort of context. Nearly all of these artists have a great deal more quality material out there, certainly enough that having one cut from each is hardly a satisfying proposition; moreover, there are various-artists compilations covering most of these styles in more coherent fashion. However, even if it isn't at all unified, Atlantic Records 50 Years undeniably possesses a wealth of great music. ~ Steve Huey

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $11.37
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for