CD BEHIND THE MUSIC [CD] [1 disc] [685738671526] (CD 1181497),
back to browsing

BEHIND THE MUSIC [CD] [1 disc] [685738671526]

  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 386715

  • Credits

    The Soundtrack Of Our Lives: Ebbot Lundberg: (vocals, dulcimer, sitar, harmonica); Mattias Barjed (various instruments, guitar, background vocals);
    Ian Person (guitar, percussion, background vocals); Martin Hederos (piano, organ, mellotron, background vocals); Ake Karl Kalle Gustafsson (double bass, bass, cembalo, background vocals); Fredrik Sandsten (drums, percussion).
    BEHIND THE MUSIC was nominated for the 2003 Grammy Awards for Best Alternative Music Album.
    Even before the Swedish rock invasion hit the US full-force in 2002, the Soundtrack Of Our Lives was making waves. While the careless are quick to lump them in with their neo-garage countrymen, it's vital to note that SOOL, led by singer-songwriter Ebbot Lundberg, are far beyond that. While they do knock out some zesty, old-school rock guitar riffs, these Swedes bear more noticeable echoes of late-'60s Pink Floyd, Who, Stones, and Beatles. In other words, they've managed the previously impossible task of making a new "classic rock" record that somehow sounds completely fresh. Sophisticated production and songwriting are the rule, whether the band is engaging in psychedelic ballads, driving rockers, or Badfinger-like power pop.

  • Critic Reviews
    Rolling Stone (12/26/02, p.110) - Included in Rolling Stone's "50 Best Albums of 2002"
    Rolling Stone (10/02, p.72) - 3 stars out of 5 - "...Like Guided By Voices, the Soundtracks know where the good stuff is buried, and they charge it with new life..."
    Spin (1/03, p.72) - Ranked #30 on Spin's list of 2002's "Albums of the Year"
    Spin (11/02, p.122) - 9 out of 10 - "...A near-perfect vision of futures past..."
    Q (12/02, p.68) - Included in Q Magazine's "The 50 Best Albums of 2002."
    Q (1/02, p.107) - 4 out of 5 stars - "...Psychedelic whimsy turned into hard-rock the sound of rock's golden age...ransacking its melody library..."
    CMJ (9/30/02) - "...Amazingly fresh...fantastically's here. It's now. These are the moments to live in."
    Mojo (Publisher) (3/02, p.114) - "...Fantastic...bringing to mind a roll-call of classic late-'60s acts. BTM is heavy with mellotrons, dulcimers, sitars and many, many electric guitars. It's a revelation, a psych-tinged collection of hard-rocking pop hooks played with irresistible force..."
    NME (Magazine) (1/19/02, p.28) - 9 out of 10 - "...A gloriously quixotic album which should endear them to anyone with a soft spot for rock's great gonzoid '60s iconographers: The Dandy Warhols, Monster Magnet and Oasis....they are the best post-everything six-piece space rock band in the history of the eardrum..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $8.54
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for