CD Be Here to Love Me [Fat Possum] (CD 1146031),
back to browsing

Be Here to Love Me [Fat Possum]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. I've Designed It That Way
    2. At My Window
    3. Highway Kind
    4. Rake
    5. Pancho & Lefty
    6. My Proud Mountains
    7. Nothin'
    8. Dollar Bill Blues
    9. Waitin' Round to Die
    10. If I Needed You
    11. Where I Lead Me
    12. Be Here to Love Me
    13. No Place to Fall
    14. My Starter Won't Start
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Wild Crazy Things
    2. Rex's Blues
    3. Black Crow Blues
    4. Don't You Take It Too Bad
    5. When She Don't Need Me
    6. Snake Song
    7. Mr. Mudd & Mr. Gold
    8. Flyin' Shoes
    9. Delta Mama Blues
    10. Marie
    11. To Live's to Fly
    12. Brand New Companion
    13. High, Low and in Between
    14. St. John the Gambler
    15. I Just Had to Fall
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 10852

  • Credits
    ProducerMargaret Brown

    Director: Margaret Brown.
    Editors: Karen Skloss; Michael Taylar; Don Howard.
    Photographer: Frazer Bradshaw.
    The soundtrack to director Margaret Brown's documentary on the life of Townes Van Zandt, BE HERE TO LOVE ME, features many of the finest recordings by the revered Texas singer/songwriter, who passed away in 1997. This two-disc collection draws primarily from Van Zandt's work on the Tomato label, and showcases his distinctively melancholy country/folk narratives--songs that were often utterly heartbreaking and compelling at the same time. Although this album isn't exactly a best-of compilation, it does include key tracks from Van Zandt's career, including his own version of the wistful "Pancho and Lefty," which became a big hit for Willie Nelson, and the fragile, unguarded "If I Needed You." Even tunes that initially sound upbeat, such as the title track, usually contain an undercurrent of sadness, a quality that makes Van Zandt's work all the more fascinating. Though THE BEST OF TOWNES VAN ZANDT remains the most ideal introduction to the artist, this set is perfect for those ready to venture a bit further into his impressive catalog.

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $19.55
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for