CD Black Sabbath [Deluxe Edition] (CD 4643105),
back to browsing

Black Sabbath [Deluxe Edition]

    1. Black Sabbath
    2. Wizard, The
    3. Behind the Wall of Sleep
    4. N.I.B.
    5. Evil Woman (Don't Play Your Games with Me)
    6. Sleeping Village
    7. Warning
    1. Wicked World
    2. Black Sabbath - (previously unreleased)
    3. Black Sabbath - (previously unreleased)
    4. Wizard, The - (previously unreleased)
    5. Behind the Wall of Sleep - (previously unreleased)
    6. N.I.B. - (previously unreleased)
    7. Evil Woman - (previously unreleased, alternate take)
    8. Sleeping Village (Intro) - (previously unreleased)
    9. Warning (Pt. 1) - (previously unreleased)
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 2700817

  • Credits
    ProducerRodger Bain
    EngineerTom Allom; Barry Sheffield

    Personnel: Tony Iommi (guitar); Geezer Butler (bass guitar); Billy Ward (drums).
    Audio Remasterer: Andy Pearce.
    Liner Note Author: David Wells .
    Author: Billy Ward.
    Photographers: Hugh Gilmour; Chris Walter; Chris Walter.
    Black Sabbath's debut album is the birth of heavy metal as we now know it. Compatriots like Blue Cheer, Led Zeppelin, and Deep Purple were already setting new standards for volume and heaviness in the realms of psychedelia, blues-rock, and prog rock. Yet of these metal pioneers, Sabbath are the only one whose sound today remains instantly recognizable as heavy metal, even after decades of evolution in the genre. Circumstance certainly played some role in the birth of this musical revolution -- the sonic ugliness reflecting the bleak industrial nightmare of Birmingham; guitarist Tony Iommi's loss of two fingertips, which required him to play slower and to slacken the strings by tuning his guitar down, thus creating Sabbath's signature style. These qualities set the band apart, but they weren't wholly why this debut album transcends its clear roots in blues-rock and psychedelia to become something more. Sabbath's genius was finding the hidden malevolence in the blues, and then bludgeoning the listener over the head with it. Take the legendary album-opening title cut. The standard pentatonic blues scale always added the tritone, or flatted fifth, as the so-called "blues note"; Sabbath simply extracted it and came up with one of the simplest yet most definitive heavy metal riffs of all time. Thematically, most of heavy metal's great lyrical obsessions are not only here, they're all crammed onto side one. "Black Sabbath," "The Wizard," "Behind the Wall of Sleep," and "N.I.B." evoke visions of evil, paganism, and the occult as filtered through horror films and the writings of J.R.R. Tolkien, H.P. Lovecraft, and Dennis Wheatley. Even if the album ended here, it would still be essential listening. Unfortunately, much of side two is given over to loose blues-rock jamming learned through Cream, which plays squarely into the band's limitations. For all his stylistic innovations and strengths as a composer, Iommi isn't a hugely accomplished soloist. By the end of the murky, meandering, ten-minute cover of the Aynsley Dunbar Retaliation's "Warning," you can already hear him recycling some of the same simple blues licks he used on side one (plus, the word "warn" never even appears in the song, because Ozzy Osbourne misheard the original lyrics). The British release included another cover, a version of Crow's "Evil Woman" that doesn't quite pack the muscle of the band's originals. (The American version substitutes "Wicked World," which is much preferred by fans.) But even if the seams are still showing on this quickly recorded document, Black Sabbath is nonetheless a revolutionary debut whose distinctive ideas merely await a bit more focus and development. Henceforth Black Sabbath would forge ahead with a vision that was wholly theirs. ~ Steve Huey

  • Critic Reviews
    Q (8/00, p.126) - Included in Q's "Best Metal Albums Of All Time" - "...[This] was to prove so influential it remains a template for metal bands 3 decades on. The band's signature song remains the scariest of all heavy metal songs..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $16.53
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for