CD Blood of the Earth [Hawkwind] [803341328037] (CD 6883561),
back to browsing

Blood of the Earth [Hawkwind] [803341328037]

  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 4132803

  • Credits

    As always with anything remotely resembling a "new" Hawkwind album, as opposed to a live or archive rehash of the past, Blood of the Earth falls between two very sharply defined poles -- either it's the band's best album since the mid- to late '90s, or it's one more step away from the purity of their original mission statement, an argument that could be backed up by the distinctly lackluster retread of "You Better Believe It" that turns up near the end. Unfortunately, that's about as far as that argument goes, as Blood of the Earth continues the past few albums' penchant for pushing ahead, opening with the distinctly atmospheric "Seahawks," pounding on through the near-punkish "Wraith," and (back to the past again), completely rewiring "Sweet Obsession" from its solo Dave Brock prototype. The tribal "Inner Visions" and the near-ambient "Green Machine" offer the most distinct axis around which the album revolves, but every corner secretes a new surprise, until you arrive at "Comfy Chair," which actually fits you just like one. Which probably isn't something you'd expect to find on a Hawkwind album, but strangely, it works really well. ~ Dave Thompson

  • Critic Reviews
    Mojo (Publisher) (p.93) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "Epic, richly textured and absorbing, the material ranges from 'Wraith''s cyber-punk rush to the Floydian atmospherics of 'Green Machine'...."
    Record Collector (magazine) (p.93) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "[T]he thoroughly committed 'You'd Better Believe It' sounds as though it's hot-wired directly into the band's Ladbroke Grove counterculture source..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $25.20
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for