CD Boogie in the Breeze Blocks [Digipak] (CD 4660851),
back to browsing

Boogie in the Breeze Blocks [Digipak]

  • 1. Predetermined To the Master Plan
    2. Ghost Cloud
    3. Slap Yr Boots On!
    4. Oysters Await
    5. Entertaining the After Beast
    6. Jim O'Rourke
    7. Schroeder Meets Jagger
    8. Not Just Any Kind of Fruit & Veg
    9. Moment of Ta People
    10. Roosevelt Island: I Can't Do It
    11. Mao Mix Ii: Nike Rim Job
    12. Herodiahe
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): ESP 4055

  • Credits

    Personnel: Matthew Mottel (vocals, banjo, piano, Fender Rhodes piano, organ, synthesizer, mini-Moog synthesizer); Kevin Shea (vocals, synthesizer, drums).
    Audio Mixer: Josh Clark .
    Arranger: Talibam!.
    The word "humorous" is seldom used to describe avant-garde jazz, but trombonist Ray Anderson and the Reptet can be delightfully humorous, as evidenced on this 2009 release. Pianist/keyboardist Matthew Mottel and drummer Kevin Shea aren't jazz purists or acoustic snobs by any stretch of the imagination, but free jazz is a major ingredient here. Talibam! combine electric free jazz with a variety of rock styles (including punk, noise rock, and psychedelic rock) and have also been influenced by funk, soul, blues, and ska. For all its abstraction and eccentricity, the album has grooves and hooks that listeners can easily sink their teeth into, and unlike most electric free jazz, BOOGIE IN THE BREEZE BLOCKS uses vocals extensively (singing as well as spoken word and bits of goofy dialogue).

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $13.18
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for