CD Boy [Deluxe Edition] (CD 1311180),
back to browsing

Boy [Deluxe Edition]

  • U2
  • CD
  • 2 discs

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. I Will Follow
    2. Twilight
    3. Cat Dubh, An
    4. Into the Heart
    5. Out of Control
    6. Stories for Boys
    7. Ocean, The
    8. Day Without Me, A
    9. Another Time, Another Place
    10. Electric Co., The
    11. Shadows and Tall Trees
    12. Outro
    0. DISC 2:
    1. I Will Follow [New Mix] - (previously unreleased)
    2. 11 O'Clock Tick Tock
    3. Touch
    4. Speed of Life - (previously unreleased)
    5. Saturday Night - (previously unreleased)
    6. Things to Make and Do
    7. Out of Control
    8. Boy-Girl
    9. Stories for Boys
    10. Another Day
    11. Twilight
    12. Boy-Girl [Live At the Marquee, London] - (previously unreleased)
    13. 11 O'Clock Tick Tock [Live At the Marquee, London] - (previously unreleased)
    14. Cartoon World [Live At the National Stadium, Dublin] - (previously unreleased)
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): B001094602

  • Credits
    ProducerMartin Hannett; Steve Lillywhite; U2; Steve Lillywhite
    EngineerTim Painter; Paul S. Thomas; Gerry Fitzgerald

    U2: Paul "Bono Vox" Hewson (vocals); Dave "The Edge" Evans (guitar, background vocals); Adam Clayton (bass); Larry Mullen, Jr. (drums).
    Recorded at Windmill Lane, Dublin, Ireland.
    "An Cat Dubh" and "Into The Heart" are listed as one song.
    In 2008, the Dublin quartet reissued their debut as a two-disc set with extensive bonus tracks. While many of these tracks have been surfacing in collectors vinyl markets for years, most of them are included here on disc for the first time. The extras are informative more than truly satifying listening. Who knew, but at one point U2 were not a global corporation, but an actual, very much of their time post-punk band. On "Touch," "Boy/Girl," and the previously unreleased "Saturday Night," Bono toys with Patti Smith-inspired new wave-y vocal affectations that he would soon eschew entirely. Adam Clayton and Larry Mullen, Jr. while possessing a bracing punk pulse have yet to really lock in with their signature propulsive feel. The real revelation here though is the Edge--whose guitar-playing has been long mocked by purists for its minimalism--who evokes Nile Rodgers and Johnny Thunders dueling over a slew of guitar effects. Some live tracks are also included and foreshadow the band's stadium-sized appetites. With the Edge's production hand, the old tracks have a new impact and will delight longtime fans and collectors alike.
    U2: Bono (vocals); The Edge (guitar, background vocals); Adam Clayton (bass guitar); Larry Mullen, Jr. (drums).
    Audio Mixers: Paul S. Thomas; Martin Hannett.
    Audio Remasterers: The Edge; Arnie Acosta.
    Audio Remixer: Robbie McGrath.
    Liner Note Author: Paul Morley.
    Recording information: CBS Studios, London, England; The Marquee, London, England; The National Stadium, Dublin, Ireland; Windmill Lane Recording Studio, Dublin, Ireland.
    Photographers: Colm Henry; Paul Slattery.

  • Critic Reviews
    Rolling Stone (3/1/01, p.54) - 4 stars out of 5 - "...In a way that hadn't been done in popular music since the Who...BOY explored male a state of desperate searching....fashioning dense, dusky atmospheres in which unabashed yearning and insistent conviction collide and intertwine..."
    Q (7/95, p.148) - 3 Stars - Good - "...a culmination of modern ideas amid a sea of confused contemporary directions..."
    CMJ (1/5/04, p.8) - Ranked #10 in CMJ's "Top 20 Most-Played Albums of 1981"
    Melody Maker (6/3/95, p.36) - "...they've made three great albums, of which BOY, their eulogy to the twilight of innocence is one. It's dated badly, but that doesn't matter...I hear gobstoppers and ghost stories, magic and mischief, the sunnier moments of my childhood..."
    Q (Magazine) (p.151) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "BOY impresses with its adolescent energy, its gauche charm, and sounds like a band already too big for the record they've just made."
    Mojo (Publisher) (p.121) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "Heard today, there' still a palpable ardency to U2's debut, an unselfconscious clawing for excellence..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $24.38
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for