CD Cast of Thousands [The Ultimate Edition] (CD 1088694),
back to browsing

Cast of Thousands [The Ultimate Edition]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Cast of Thousands
    2. Adverts, The
    3. My Place
    4. Male Assault
    5. Television's Over
    6. Fate of Criminals
    7. Love Songs
    8. I Surrender
    9. I Looked at the Sun
    10. I Will Walk You Home
    11. Television's Over - (bonus track)
    12. Back from the Dead - (bonus track)
    1. One Chord Wonders
    2. Bored Teenagers
    3. Gary Gilmore's Eyes
    4. New Boys
    5. Quickstep
    6. We Who Wait
    7. New Church
    8. Safety in Numbers
    9. Great British Mistake
    10. Fate of Criminals
    11. Television's Over
    12. Love Songs
    13. Back from the Dead
    14. I Surrender
    15. Adverts, The
    16. I Looked at the Sun
    17. Cast of Thousands
    18. I Will Walk You Home
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 905

  • Credits
    ProducerJohn Sparrow; Bill Aitken; Malcolm Brown; Tom Newman; Tony Wilson
    EngineerDave Dade; Bill Aitken; Mike Robinson

    Includes four bonus tracks.
    Personnel: TV Smith (vocals, guitar); Howard Pickup (guitar); Tim Cross (keyboards); Gaye Advert (bass guitar); Laurie Driver, Rod Latter, Rick Martinez (drums).
    Liner Note Authors: Henry Rollins; TV Smith.
    Recording information: John Peel Show (04/29/1977-11/12/1979).
    The Adverts' second album, 1979's CAST OF THOUSANDS, was roundly dismissed upon release. It sounded very little like the band's classic early singles, "One Chord Wonders" and "Gary Gilmore's Eyes." In retrospect, T.V. Smith, Gaye Advert and company were merely ahead of their time. Even a year later, the cold, brittle sound of CAST OF THOUSANDS would have sounded right at home amidst the early 1980s techno-pop bands and raincoat-clad miserablists.
    The Biblical quote on the back cover reads "Love not the world, nor the things that are in the world," and that's downright perky compared to the songs themselves. CAST is riddled with alienation. The icy chill is felt most acutely on "The Adverts," the most cynical statement about rock and roll this side of "Ballad of Mott the Hoople." An open mind may be necessary, but this is a record long overdue for reconsideration.

  • Critic Reviews
    Q (5/02 SE, p.134) - 3 stars out of 5 - Included in Q's "100 Best Punk Albums" - "By the time the album hit, critics were ready to stick the knife into anything penned by the punk-poet TV smith, and his auteur attempt gave them plenty of entry points..."
    Mojo (Publisher) (p.111) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "Vocalist TV Smith sounds as angry and erudite as ever on the song 'The Adverts'..."
    Mojo (Publisher) (3/01/04, p.55) - Included in Mojo's The 67 Lost Albums You Must Own! - "[W]idescreen, anthemic, post-proggy rage that spat bitterly in the eye of prevalent trends."
    Mojo (Publisher) (p.128) - 4 stars out of 5 - "[I]t's a ragged bedroom-pop masterpiece..."
    Uncut (magazine) (p.81) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "The blend of ornate arrangements and bitter rage sounds like a sneak preview of The Auteurs..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $21.30
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for