CD Concert for George (CD 529914),
back to browsing

Concert for George

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Sarve Shaam (Traditional Prayer)
    2. Your Eyes - Anoushka Shankar
    3. Inner Light, The - Jeff Lynne/Anoushka Shankar
    4. Arpan - Anoushka Shankar
    0. DISC 2:
    1. I Want to Tell You - Jeff Lynne
    2. If I Needed Someone - Eric Clapton
    3. Old Brown Shoe - Gary Brooker
    4. Give Me Love (Give Me Peace on Earth) - Jeff Lynne
    5. Beware of Darkness - Eric Clapton
    6. Here Comes the Sun - Joe Brown
    7. That's the Way It Goes - Joe Brown
    8. Taxman - Tom Petty
    9. I Need You - Tom Petty
    10. Handle With Care - Dhani Harrison/Jeff Lynne/Tom Petty
    11. Isn't It a Pity - Billy Preston
    12. Photograph - Ringo Starr
    13. Honey Don't - Ringo Starr
    14. For You Blue - Paul McCartney
    15. Something - Eric Clapton/Paul McCartney
    16. All Things Must Pass - Paul McCartney
    17. While My Guitar Gently Weeps - Eric Clapton/Paul McCartney
    18. My Sweet Lord - Billy Preston
    19. Wah Wah - Eric Clapton
    20. I'll See You in My Dreams - Joe Brown
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 74546

  • Credits
    ProducerJeff Lynne
    EngineerPaul Nickson; Will Shapland

    Recorded at the Royal Albert Hall, London, England on November 22, 2002.
    Personnel: Scott Thurston (guitar, harmonica); Dhani Harrison, Albert Lee , Andy Fairweather Low (guitar); Marc Mann (electric guitar); Jim Horn (alto saxophone); Tom Scott (tenor saxophone); Chris Stainton, Gary Brooker, Benmont Tench (keyboards); Phil Capaldi, Jim Capaldi, Jim Keltner, Henry Spinetti, Steve Ferrone (drums); Ray Cooper (percussion); Katie Kissoon, Tessa Niles (background vocals).
    Audio Mixers: Ryan Ulyate; Marc Mann; Jeff Lynne.
    Liner Note Author: Paul Theroux.
    Recording information: The Royal Albert Hall (11/29/2002).
    Photographers: Oliver Hecks; Astrid Kirchnerr; Richard D. Young; Jill Furmanovsky; Clive Arrowsmith; Richard Matthews.
    Unknown Contributor Roles: English Chamber Choir; London Metropolitan Orchestra.
    George Harrison was always known as the Beatle with the most pronounced interest in spirituality and distaste for earthly contrivances. The intensity of feeling, palpable here in the performances of Harrison's musical friends at his memorial concert, mirrors the depth of emotion on the part of the millions touched by "the quiet Beatle"'s work over the years. The first disc of this live recording features musical tributes from Harrison's Indian mentor Ravi Shankar and Shankar's sitar-virtuoso daughter Anoushka--fitting for a Brit who pioneered the incorporation of Eastern flavors into 1960s rock.
    The second disc is a full-on rock-star tribute, but instead of the overkill one might expect with so much rock royalty involved (including musical director Eric Clapton), the result is a straightforward, perfectly rendered, and touchingly sincere program of Harrison's finest compositions. From fellow travelers Paul McCartney and Ringo Starr's respective versions of "All Things Must Pass" and "Photograph" to early British rocker/Beatles influence Joe Brown's humble take on "Here Comes the Sun," CONCERT FOR GEORGE overflows with honest outpourings of love and fine performances in equal measure.

  • Critic Reviews
    Uncut (3/04, p.92) - 3 stars out of 5 - "The event exudes a powerful atmosphere and genuine musicality..."
    Dirty Linen (4/04, p.55) - "The high level of musicianship and the camaraderie of this diverse assemblage of Harrison's friends makes this tribute one that merits repeated views and/or listens."
0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $20.96
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for