CD Cotton Eyed Joe [Digipak] (CD 1145528),
back to browsing

Cotton Eyed Joe [Digipak]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. It's Alright
    2. Everytime I Think Of Freedom
    3. Cotton Eyed Joe
    4. Pastures Of Plenty
    5. One May Morning
    6. Red Are The Flowers
    7. Blues On The Ceiling
    8. Run Tell That Major
    9. Down And Out
    10. Fannin' Street
    0. DISC 2:
    1. In The Evening
    2. Old Hannah
    3. Pallett On Your Floor
    4. Prettiest Train
    5. Mole In The Ground
    6. Darlin' Corey
    7. It Hurts Me Too
    8. Katie Cruel
    9. Blackjack
    10. No More Taters
    11. Good Morning Blues
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): CDMEGA15

  • Credits
    EngineerJoe Loop

    Audio Remasterer: Peter Mew.
    Although Karen Dalton's studio recordings consist of only a pair of albums--1969's IT'S SO HARD TO TELL WHO'S GOING TO LOVE YOU THE BEST and 1971's IN MY OWN TIME--the shadowy, peripatetic folk singer first made her name on the folk club circuit in the late 1950s. This lengthy 1962 set at the Attic coffeehouse in Boulder, Colorado, finally seeing release 45 years later (over a decade after Dalton's death), is a major archival find. COTTON EYED JOE is a folkie's revelation, a chance for younger generations to hear for themselves what those who were around at the time have always claimed to be one of the great lost musicians of the folk era. What's clear from these 21 tracks is that Dalton was not the most technically gifted singer (though her Billie Holiday-influenced phrasing does have lashings of personality) and her 12-string guitar and banjo playing rarely rises above average. Still, Dalton has presence, a magnetic personality that leaps from the speakers, even on these rough-edged recordings. The four tracks on the DVD, the only known video footage of Dalton, were recorded in 1969 and 1970 and are nearly as essential as the music.

  • Critic Reviews
    Spin (p.98) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "[S]he imbues every note with a forlorn strength, proving her masterly command of both the material and the audience."
    The Wire (p.57) - "COTTON EYED JOE is the singer raw and unalloyed....The best thing about COTTON EYED JOE is that the performances are so vital, so red blooded..."
    No Depression (p.63) - "[H]er version of the bues standard 'It Hurts Me Too' takes the song somewhere Elmore James never imagined."
    Q (Magazine) (p.133) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "With all the rustles and cracks of an old live recording, the performance is full of 'On The Road' beatnik atmosphere..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $14.34
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for