CD D-Sides [Deluxe] [Limited] (CD 1241143),
back to browsing

D-Sides [Deluxe] [Limited]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. 68 State
    2. People
    3. Hongkongaton
    4. We Are Happy Landfill
    5. Hong Kong
    6. Highway (Under Construction)
    7. Rockit
    8. Bill Murray
    9. Swagga, The
    10. Murdoc Is God
    11. Spitting out the Demons
    12. Don't Get Lost in Heaven - (Original Demo Version)
    13. Stop the Dams
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Dare - (DFA Remix, DFA Remix)
    2. Feel Good Inc. - (Stanton Warriors Remix, Stanton Warriors Remix)
    3. Kids with Guns - (Jamie T's Turn To Monsters Mix, remix)
    4. Dare - (Soulwax Remix, Soulwax Remix)
    5. Kids with Guns - (Hot Chip Remix, Hot Chip Remix)
    6. Maana, El - (Metronomy Remix, Metronomy Remix)
    7. Dare - (Junior Sanchez Remix, Junior Sanchez Remix)
    8. Dirty Harry - (Schtung Chinese New Year Remix, Schtung Chinese New Year Remix)
    9. Kids with Guns - (Quiet Village Remix, Quiet Village Remix)
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 105582

  • Credits
    ProducerJason Cox; Gorillaz; Junior Sanchez; Ann Yeung; Matt Edwards; Tung Tang; Joseph Mount; James Dring; Joel Martin; Cox; Joel Martin; Soulwax; Gorillaz; Hot Chip; Tung Tang; Junior Sanchez; James Dring; Joseph Mount; Danger Mouse; Ann Yeung; Matt Edwards
    EngineerSteve Sedgewick; Jason Cox; Charles Lam; Steve Sedgewick; Jason Cox

    Gorillaz: Murdoc Niccals, Noodle, 2-D, Russel Hobbs.
    Personnel: Neneh Cherry (vocals); MC Yan (rap vocals); Wei Man Chen (zither); Oliver Langford, Antonia Pagulatos, Alice Pratley, Sato Kotono (violin); Hou Shih Chieh (erhu); Emma Owens, Stella Page (viola); Izzi Dunn (cello); Johnny Yim (keyboards); Al Mobbs (double bass); Tung Tang (percussion, programming); James Dring (programming); Jamie Hewlett (sound effects); Rossiere "Shadow" Wilson (background vocals).
    Additional personnel: Jacqueline Fu, Mazy Yap & Kids From Lok Sin Tong Primary School (vocals); Joseph Mount (various instruments); Danger Mouse (drums, programming); Rosie Wilson (background vocals); Oliver Langford, James Dring, Antonia Pagulatos, Wei Man Chen, The Reykjavik West End Brass Band, Hrafnkell Flki Einarsson, Katrin Plmadttir, Ashildur Akadttir, Olafur Bielawski, Haraldur Prastarson, Einar Palmason, Magns Andersen, Hugi Beyer Gunnarsson, Oskar Vlundarson, Hrdur Bjarkason, Lrus Halldr Grmsson, MC Yan, Hou Shih Chieh, Tung Tang, Morton Wilson, Johnny Yim, Jamie Hewlett, Alice Pratley, Curver, DJ Magic, De La Soul, Einar rn, Izzi Dunn, Kaktus, Neneh Cherry, Shaun Ryder, The Bees, Emma Owens, Stella Page, Al Mobbs, Ghostigital.
    Audio Mixers: Jason Cox; Gorillaz; Tung Tang.
    Audio Remixers: Junior Sanchez; Jamie T.; Quiet Village; The DFA; Stanton Warriors.
    Recording information: Avon Recording Studios Limited; Hong Kong; Kong Studios; Studio 13; Studio B109; The 12B Reykjavik; Timi.
    Although the grand collaborative project of the first Gorillaz album had been mostly narrowed down to Damon Albarn and a few cohorts on 2005's DEMON DAYS, the music remained no less genre-smashing and fun. D-SIDES, a two-disc set of B-sides and remixes, proves just how inventive and appealing even the Gorillaz' loose ends can be.
    Like most B-sides sets, D-SIDES lacks the cohesion of a regular studio album, but therein lies its charm. The stylistically freewheeling, everything-but-the-kitchen-sink approach Albarn employed with later Blur albums is here, but pushed further, encompassing everything from doo-wop to dub to hard rock to film music. The remix disc, which features work by the DFA, Metronomy, and Hot Chip, is sharper and more focused, without sacrificing the feeling of wild pastiche that makes the Gorillaz tick.

  • Critic Reviews
    Spin (p.98) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "[This collection] has some surprises, especially the zither-adorned 'Hong Kong' and protest song 'Stop the Dams'..."
    Uncut (p.94) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "Gorillaz' second round-up of offcuts, noodles and sketches still has an excellent strike rate."
    Q (Magazine) (p.133) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "[I]t's fascinating to discover tracks such as 'People,' an early sketch for 'DARE' with vocals by Albarn himself..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $9,999.00
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for