CD Damned Anthems (CD 1240901),
back to browsing

Damned Anthems

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Like Princes Do
    2. All the Myths on Sunday
    3. Fall to Love
    4. Walk with the Mountain
    5. Here I Stand
    6. Boy on Top of the News
    7. Till the Moon Struck 2
    8. Safe Life, Safe Times
    9. While the World Cries Decency
    10. When the Hoodoo Comes
    11. I Want No Mystery
    12. Maybe Eastern Zone
    13. Jackie's Still Sad
    14. Like Princes Do
    15. Here I Stand
    16. All the Myths on Sunday
    17. Mr Soul
    18. Bell of Hope
    19. House Divide
    20. Waking Hour
    0. DISC 2:
    1. All the Myths on Sunday
    2. Fall to Love
    3. Silver Girl
    4. Walk with the Mountain
    5. Boy on Top of the News
    6. Turn, Turn, Turn
    7. Here I Stand
    8. Bell of Hope
    9. Doesn't Candy Look Good
    10. Mr Soul
    11. Clutching at Love
    12. Safe Life, Safe Times
    13. While the World Cries Decency
    14. Rock and Roll Woman - (bonus track)
    15. Revelation Calling - (bonus track)
    16. Hey Grandma - (bonus track)
    17. When the Hoodoo Comes - (bonus track)
    18. Out of Nowhere - (bonus track)
    19. House Divided - (bonus track)
    20. Good Time - Liberation Blues (bonus track)
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 240

  • Credits

    This Leicester quintet never even caused a ripple in the States, but for a brief moment in their homeland they appeared like saviors in a desolate land. It was 1987, and the U.K. was in yet another cycle of confusion. The indie scene was moored in a morass of angst, the NWOBHM was already a parody of itself, the dance scene was in shambles, and the press was waiting impatiently for the next big thing. Which was when Diesel Park West signed to Food Records and unleashed their debut single "When the Hoodoo Comes," a celebration of all things rock & roll. The full-length Shakespeare Alabama followed, and it seemed the band had attained the impossible, interweaving the genre's myriad threads into one phenomenal rock tapestry. Their varied influences splay out in all directions on this two-CD live set, a companion to the group's previously released DVD compilation, with the bulk of the songs recorded live between 1988 and 1993. "Like Princes Do" shows the unmistakable imprimatur of Bruce Springsteen, "Boy on Top of the News" their adoration of the jangly guitars of the British Invasion, "Fall to Love" their idolization of U2, and "Till the Moon Struck 2" their love of power ballads. Elsewhere you can hear traces of the Velvet Underground, the Sisters of Mercy, the Alarm, Big Country, Echo & the Bunnymen, and we haven't even gotten to the '60s and '70s rockers yet, with the Rolling Stones the most prominent. Perhaps that's why the band took over two years to write and record their sophomore set, Decency; they were still trying to shake their antecedents out of their hair. Off the road, and falling ever further off the radar by the time the second set arrived, all their momentum was lost, and the scene had moved on. The band carried on regardless, but their chance at stardom was gone. This album is a potent reminder of what could have been, especially disc one, containing superior performances that more than make up for the patchy sound quality. The Swiss show featured on disc two is slick, but lacks spark and soul, but it is offset by a savage 1988 hometown show. A trio recorded in Sheffield in 2004 brings the set neatly up to date. Diesel Park West's forts were their powerful songwriting and electrifying live act. Unfortunately, they were unable to do both simultaneously, if they could, the course of British rock might have changed completely. [A DVD of Damned Anthems was also released.] ~ Jo-Ann Greene

0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $18.98
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for