CD Danger Days: The True Lives of the Fabulous Killjoys [Bonus Tracks] (CD 7012297),
back to browsing

Danger Days: The True Lives of the Fabulous Killjoys [Bonus Tracks]

  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 7410133

  • Credits

    Swapping gothic pomp for metallic power pop, My Chemical Romance may streamline their excesses on Danger Days: The True Lives of the Fabulous Killjoys, the sequel to their 2006 magnum opus The Black Parade, but they by no means excise their indulgences. Drama is hardwired within MCR, due in part to the leadership of Gerard Way, a lead singer who writes comic books on the side and can't help but have his other calling seep into the fabric of Danger Days, constructing an absurd sci-fi narrative about a gang of anti-corporate renegades in the far-distant year of 2019. By setting their dystopia just nine years in the future, MCR run the risk of creating the rock & roll answer to Richard Kelly's Southland Tales, but the near-nonsensical narrative is incidental on Danger Days. What matters is the sheer rush of sound: the riffs and hooks bash against each other, pushing the record forward at a breakneck speed; the band will suddenly swing from clenched punk rhythms to the strobe-light disco of "Planetary (GO!)." Certain references pop up, either in Way's lyrics or in the buzzsaw guitars of Ray Toro and Frank Iero, these studied cultural allusions replacing teen angst as MCR's touchstone, a shift that has the ultimate effect of lightening the band's music considerably. There's no emo bloodletting, no expressionist confrontations with death, just exaggerated adolescent anthems and calls to rebellion, just enough drama so this could be called cathartic by a certain generation, but for most listeners it's crystallized fun, the purest rush My Chemical Romance has ever delivered. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

  • Critic Reviews
    Rolling Stone - 3.5 stars out of 5 -- "[The] bad attitude suits this synth-laced album....DANGER DAYS offers a total rejection of bloated celebrity rock."
    Alternative Press (p.95) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "[With] some of the strongest and catchiest songs of their career..."
    Alternative Press (p.100) - Ranked #8 in Alternative Press's "10 Essential Albums of 2010" -- "[P]olished pop and overmodulated proto-punk."
    Billboard (p.34) - "They blaze a wide trail, from such thrashing rockers as 'Na Na Na,' 'Save Yourself, I'll Hold Them Back' and 'Vampire Money' to melodic near-ballads like 'Summertime'..."
    Mojo (Publisher) (p.96) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "[A]n audio sugar rush punctuated by skits placing us in a futuristic world of road warriors armed with laser guns."
0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $22.96
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for