CD Definitive Collection [Andromeda] [CD Boxset] [2 discs] (CD 1235982),
back to browsing

Definitive Collection [Andromeda] [CD Boxset] [2 discs]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Too Old
    2. Day Of The Change, The
    3. Now The Sun Shines
    4. Turns To Dust (3 parts)1.Discovery 2.Sanctuary 3.Determination: Discovery / Sanctuary / Detemination
    5. Return To Sanity (3 parts)1.Breakdown 2.Hope 3.Conclusion: Breakdown / Hope / Conclusion
    6. Reason, The
    7. I Can Stop The Song
    8. When To Stop (3 parts)1.The Traveller 2.Turning Point 3.Journey's End: The Traveller / Turning Point / Journey's End
    9. Go Your Way
    10. Keep Out 'Cos I'm Dying
    11. Garden Of Happiness, The
    12. Return To Exodus
    13. Journey's End (reprise) - (reprise)
    14. Let's All Watch The Sky Fall Down
    15. Darkness Of Her Room
    16. See Into The Stars
    17. Day Of Change, The
    18. Reason, The
    19. Return To Sanity
    20. Keep Out 'Cos I'm Dying
    21. Search On
    22. Ode To The Sea
    23. Lonely Streets
    24. Sleep Like A child
    25. I Was Left Behind
    26. I Just Wanna Live My Life
    27. Lodger, The
    28. Dreamland
    29. Round House Blues - (live)
    30. Walking On - (live)
    31. I'm Searching - (live)
    32. Acidus - (live)
    33. All In You
    34. Step This Way
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Day of the Change, The
    2. Reason, The
    3. Return to Sanity
    4. Keep Out 'Cos I'm Dying
    5. Search On
    6. Ode to the Sea
    7. Lonely Streets
    8. Sleep Like a Child
    9. I Was Left Behind
    10. I Just Wanna Live My Life
    11. Lodger, The
    12. Dreamland
    13. Round House Blues - (live)
    14. Walking On - (live)
    15. I'm Searching - (live)
    16. Acidus - (live)
    17. All in You
    18. Step This Way
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): SJPCD053

  • Credits
    ProducerJohnny Du Cann (Compilation)

    THE DEFINITIVE COLLECTION features the album ANDROMEDA (1969), live tracks from Round House and Covent Garden from 1967 and tracks recorded for John Peel's TOP GEAR program from 1968.
    Andromeda: John Du Cann (vocals, guitar); Mike Hanksworth (bass, background vocals); Ian McLane, Jack Collins (drums).
    Includes liner notes by Claes Johansen.
    Digitally remastered by John Du Cann (1999).
    This two-CD set does include the entirety of Andromeda's sole, self-titled album (presented in sequence as the first eight songs), but there is so much more material here that this is much more than a mere expanded reissue of Andromeda. There's the non-LP single "Go Your Way"/"Keep Out 'Cos I'm Dying," and no less than 24 previously unreleased tracks, including the last six cuts on disc one and the entirety of disc two. Some of these additions are alternate versions of material from their LP and single, but most are entirely different songs. Sources are not given for all of these previously unavailable items, although five are identified as having been done for John Peel's Top Gear radio show in 1968, and two are noted as outtakes from Andromeda, two as 1967 recordings, and four as live 1967-1968 cuts. Although some psych/prog collectors may beg to differ, on the evidence of these tracks, Andromeda seem to have been a better band before their official album. Prior to Andromeda, they usually espoused a lighter, more melodic brand of British psych, sometimes strongly echoing the songs that Jack Bruce wrote and sang for Cream (check out "Ode to the Sea" especially) and the late-period Yardbirds (whom Andromeda sometimes supported live). Dig those couple of neat guitar-psych versions of "Exodus," and the tender folk-rock of "All in You," which differs from anything else the band recorded. The self-titled LP consists of erratic, undistinguished heavy psych with one foot in hard rock and one toe in metal, although the band does vary the mood with occasional quiet and reflective passages (see review under Andromeda entry for full details). Due to the wealth of material, this set is certainly preferable to other Andromeda releases -- legitimate or otherwise -- which contain less material, or only the tracks from the Andromeda LP. ~ Richie Unterberger

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $19.81
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for