CD Disney: The Music Behind the Magic (CD 270762),
back to browsing

Disney: The Music Behind the Magic

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Mickey Mouse March
    2. Who's Afraid of the Big Bad Wolf
    3. Some Day My Prince Will Come
    4. Give a Little Whistle
    5. When You Wish Upon a Star
    6. Baby Mine
    7. Little April Shower
    8. Zip-a-Dee-Doo-Dah
    9. Dream Is a Wish Your Heart Makes, A
    10. So This Is Love
    11. Second Star to the Right, The
    12. Ballad of Davy Crockett, The
    13. Siamese Cat Song, The
    14. He's a Tramp
    15. Once Upon a Dream
    16. Cruella de Vil
    17. Let's Get Together
    18. It's a Small World
    19. Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious
    20. Spoonful of Sugar, A
    21. Monkey's Uncle
    22. Winnie the Pooh
    23. Wonderful Thing About Tiggers, The
    24. Yo Ho (A Pirate's Life For Me)
    25. I Wan'na Be Like You
    26. Grim Grinning Ghosts
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Home on the Range
    2. Ducks Dance Too
    3. Part of Your World
    4. Under the Sea
    5. Be Our Guest
    6. Beauty and the Beast
    7. Whole New World, A
    8. What's This?
    9. Circle of Life
    10. Hakuna Matata
    11. They Live in You
    12. Colors of the Wind
    13. You've Got a Friend in Me
    14. Bells of Notre Dame, The
    15. I Won't Say (I'm in Love)
    16. Reflection
    17. Strangers Like Me
    18. When She Loved Me
    19. Hawaiian Roller Coaster Ride
    20. Why Not?
    21. Cheetah Sisters
    22. Breaking Free
    23. Find Yourself
    24. Mickey Mouse Club Alma Mater
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 000102

  • Credits
    ProducerTed Kryczko

    The double-disc set Disney: The Music Behind the Magic was conceived as a celebration of 50 years of Walt Disney Records, but it also works very well as a collection of greatest hits from the studio's films, theme parks, and TV shows. The first disc does a comprehensive and creative job of chronicling Disney's golden age, including required tracks like "Mickey Mouse March," "Some Day My Prince Will Come," "When You Wish Upon a Star," and "The Ballad of Davy Crockett" but also making room for some slightly less-expected songs like Bambi's "Little April Shower" and The Parent Trap's "Let's Get Together." Annette Funicello's title song for The Monkey's Uncle features the Beach Boys on backing vocals, and famous songs from Disneyland's main attractions, like "It's a Small World," Pirates of the Carribean's "Yo Ho (A Pirate's Life for Me)," and the Haunted Mansion's "Grim Grinning Ghosts" show just how expansive the Disney world became by the end of the '60s. It would be easy to fill up two discs with classic Disney music from the '30s to the '60s, but the second disc of Disney: The Music Behind the Magic does a good job of spotlighting the best and most interesting moments in Disney music from the '70s to the 2000s. Those aren't necessarily the same songs: 1979's "Home on the Range" comes from Disney's Children's Favorites, which is the studio's longest-running album to stay in print since its release, while "Ducks Dance, Too," from 1982's Mousercise, reflects the aerobics craze of the early '80s. The creative renaissance Disney experienced later that decade and in the early '90s is commemorated with The Little Mermaid's "Part of Your World," Beauty and the Beast's "Be Our Guest," and Aladdin's "A Whole New World." The Nightmare Before Christmas' "What's This?" and The Lion King's "Hakuna Matata" show that creativity stretched into the mid-'90s. Pixar's earliest collaborations with Disney are also represented by Toy Story's "You've Got a Friend in Me" and Toy Story 2's Oscar-winning "When She Loved Me." The teen pop songs that round out the second disc, such as Lizzie McGuire's "Why Not?" could be seen as the Annette Funicello or Haley Mills songs of current times, but without the nostalgia to give them charm. Either way, Disney: The Music Behind the Magic offers a great overview of Disney's musical history, enhanced by Leonard Maltin's liner notes and fun bits of trivia about each release represented here. ~ Heather Phares

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $18.32
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for