CD E2-E4 (CD 4422901),
back to browsing


  • 1. E2-E4
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): MGART404CD

  • Credits
    ProducerManuel Gottsching

    E2-E4, one of the few records Gttsching released under his own name, has earned its place as one of the most important, influential electronic records ever released. It's also the earliest album to set the tone for electronic dance music; simply put, it just sounds like the mainstream house produced during the next two decades. Similar to previous Ashra albums like New Age of Earth and Blackouts, it does so with a short list of instruments -- just the nominal drum machine and a pulsing guitar line in the background plus some light synthesizer work. What sets it apart from music that came before is a steadfast refusal to follow the popular notions of development in melody and harmony. Instead, E2-E4 continues working through similar territory for close to an hour with an application to trance-state electronics missing from most of the music that preceded it. Though the various components repeat themselves incessantly, it's how they interact and build that determines the sound -- and that's the essence of most electronic dance music, that complex interplay between several repetitive elements. ~ John Bush

  • Critic Reviews
    Spin (p.87) - "[The album] stretches two guitar chords into one continuous hour of ever-changing ecstasy."
    Mojo (Publisher) (9/01, p.100) - "...One of the most influential, mesmerising pieces of electronic music ever produced, and a key influence on house and techno..."
    Mojo (Publisher) (7/03, p.124) - 4 stars out of 5 - "...E2-E4 is one of those records that knew what the future would sound like..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
  • Genre: Rock
  • Label: MGO MG30042CD
  • Distributor: Muvid
  • Analog/Digital: n/a
  • Mono/Stereo: Stereo
  • Studio/Live: Studio
  • UPC: 4260017594046
Out of Stock
Our price $9,999.00
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for