CD Earth Vs. the Wildhearts [CD Boxset] [2 discs] (CD 6985307),
back to browsing

Earth Vs. the Wildhearts [CD Boxset] [2 discs]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Greetings From Shitsville
    2. TV Tan
    3. Everlone
    4. Shame On Me
    5. Caffeine Bomb
    6. Loveshit
    7. Miles Away Girl, The
    8. My Baby is a Headfuck
    9. Suckerpunch
    10. News of the World
    11. Drinking About Life
    12. Love U Til I Don't
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Nothing Ever Changes ut the Shoes
    2. Crying Over Nothing
    3. Turning American
    4. Liberty Cap
    5. Splattermania
    6. Something Weird (Going On in My Head)
    7. Weekend (5 Long Days)
    8. Dreaming in A
    9. And the Bullshit Goes On
    10. Show a Little Emotion
    11. Dangerlust
    12. Down On London
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 174

  • Credits

    The Wildhearts: Ginger, CJ (vocals, guitars); Danny (bass, vocals); Stidi (drums).
    Additional personnel: Stevie Lang (vocals); Mick Ronson (guitar); Sarah Smith (saxophone); Willie Dowling (piano); Ritch (drums).
    Producers: The Wildhearts, Mark Dodson, Simon Efemey.
    Engineers: KK, Pete "Pee Wee" Coleman, Mark Dodson, Ian Huffam.
    Recorded at Wessex Studios and Mayfair Studios, London, England; Windings Studios, Wrexham, England.
    Liner Note Author: Dave Ling.
    Formed in 1990 by singer/guitarist Ginger (ex- Quireboys and Throbs) and guitarist Chris "CJ" Jagdhar (ex- Tattoed Love Boys), the Wildhearts augmented their sound with bassist Danny McCormack and drummer Andrew "Stidi" Stidolph. Following the release of two EPs (one a double), the U.K. band released a full-length Earth Vs. the Wildhearts in late 1993 to critical acclaim and a string of chart singles (in their home country). Theirs is a propulsive, full-throttle brand of rock, owing a debt to Motorhead and the Ramones. Clever lyrics and breakneck riffs abound, and it is impossible to not get caught up in the mile-wide hooks on virtually every cut, from "TV Tan" to "Suckerpunch." Mick Ronson adds guitar on the wry "My Baby Is a Headfuck" and the song "Caffeine Bomb" more than lives up to its name. Attitude, melody and rock-solid rhythms make Earth Vs. the Wildhearts a worthy debut. ~ Tom Demalon

  • Critic Reviews
    Q (1/94, p.87) - Included in Q's list of `The 50 Best Albums Of 1993.'
    Kerrang (Magazine) (p.51) - "It's not easy to make expletive-littered invectives sound like compassionate pop songs, but The Wildhearts do it here in abundance."
    Kerrang (Magazine) (p.53) - "Its epic tunes and brilliant lyrics result in highlights to spare."
    Kerrang (Magazine) (p.52) - "[T[his was their one true classic release."
    Record Collector (magazine) (p.97) - 5 stars out of 5 -- "The Wildhearts delivered British hard rock's best album of the 90s with their EARTH VS... debut in 1993."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $27.14
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for