CD Epitaph, Vols. 1-2 (CD 1166001),
back to browsing

Epitaph, Vols. 1-2

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. 21st Century Schizoid Man
    2. In the Court of the Crimson King
    3. Get Thy Bearings
    4. Epitaph
    5. Man, A City, A
    6. Epitaph
    7. 21st Century Schizoid Man
    8. Mantra
    9. Travel Weary Capricorn
    10. Improv- Travel Bleary Capricorn
    11. Mars
    1. In the Court of the Crimson King
    2. Drop In
    3. Man, A City, A
    4. Epitaph
    5. 21st Century Schizoid Man
    6. Mars
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 9607

  • Credits
    ProducerRobert Fripp; David Singleton

    EPITAPH is a collection of previously-unreleased performances by the original King Crimson lineup. Disc 1 features four tracks recorded for BBC Radio, along with live performances taped at the Fillmore East, New York, New York on November 21, 1969 and the Fillmore West, San Francisco, California on December 14, 1969. Disc 2 is a live show taped at the Fillmore West on December 15, 1969--the original lineup's final performance.
    Two additional discs of EPITAPH material, featuring concert recordings from August 9 and September 7, 1969, are available only by mail order from Discipline Records.
    King Crimson: Greg Lake, Robert Fripp, Ian McDonald, Michael Giles, Peter Sinfield.
    Includes liner notes by Greg Lake, Robert Fripp, Ian McDonald, Michael Giles and Peter Sinfield.
    In prog-rock circles much has been made of the LARK'S TONGUES-era Crimson's live prowess. The heady sonic concoction that was the 1969 version of the band is often overlooked in this respect. The band's debut would lead you to peg them as a kind of avant garde Moody Blues, but EPITAPH reveals the band's other side.
    In BBC sessions and three American gigs from the first year of the band's professional life, we can see a much jazzier, more improvisational side to the live KC. Stretched-out versions of tunes from the first two albums are interspersed with an unusual Donovan cover ("Get Thy Bearings," emphasizing the band's ever present softer side) and some previously unreleased instrumental pieces full of spontaneous invention. Fans will note that the bluesy, unrecorded "Drop In" shares a melody with ISLANDS' "The Letters." For fans of the band's early period this is essential. For aficionados of the later material, it will be illuminating.

  • Critic Reviews
    Rolling Stone (7/10-24/97, p.124) - 4.5 Stars (out of 5) - "...The inky abstract sketches...anticipate the avant-prog pomp of recent underground bands like Tortoise and Jessamine..."
    Q (6/97, p.151) - 4 Stars (out of 5) - "...this double CD includes enough anecdotal material for the biggest obsessive."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $15.27
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for