CD Epitaph for a Legend [Digipak] (CD 6883601),
back to browsing

Epitaph for a Legend [Digipak]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Night Time - Chayns
    2. In My Own Time - The Patterns (previously unreleased)
    3. I Tried So Hard - The Chaparrels (previously unreleased)
    4. Part of You, A - Thursday's Children (previously unreleased)
    5. If I Were a Carpenter - The Rubayyat
    6. Poor Planet Earth - Sonny Hall
    7. Communication Breakdown - Inner Scene (previously unreleased)
    8. Hurricane Fighter Plane - The Red Crayola (previously unreleased)
    9. Pink Stainless Tail - The Red Crayola (previously unreleased)
    10. Nickle Niceness - The Red Crayola (previously unreleased)
    11. Vile, Vile Grass - The Red Crayola (previously unreleased)
    12. Transparent Radiation - The Red Crayola (previously unreleased)
    13. I Want My Woman - The Emperors
    14. 25 M.P.H. - The Lost and Found (previously unreleased)
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Breakfast in Bed - Big Walter Price (previously unreleased)
    2. C.C. Rider - Dave Allen (previously unreleased)
    3. Saturday A.M. Blues - Dave Allen (previously unreleased)
    4. Conversation with Lightnin' Hopkins - Lightnin' Hopkins (previously unreleased)
    5. Black Ghost Blues - Lightnin' Hopkins (previously unreleased)
    6. Interview with Roky - Roky Erickson
    7. You're Gonna Miss Me - The Spades
    8. We Sell Soul - The Spades
    9. Splash 1 - Roky Erickson/Clementine Hall (previously unreleased)
    10. Right Track Now - Roky Erickson/Clementine Hall (previously unreleased)
    11. Wait for My Love - The 13th Floor Elevators (previously unreleased)
    12. 60-Second Radio Spot for "Bull of the Woods" - The 13th Floor Elevators
    13. Fire Engine - The 13th Floor Elevators (previously unreleased)
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): SNAX620CD

  • Credits

    Performers include: The Patterns, Sonny Hally, 13th Floor Elevators.
    This release features a special gatefold LP-style CD sleeve.
    Liner Note Author: Jon Savage .
    Editor: Greg Turner.
    The Texas-based International Artists label recorded some intriguing, slightly off-the-wall psychedelic-garage-pop in the 1960s, their most famous act being the 13th Floor Elevators. This is an erratic but extremely interesting double-LP compilation of IA oddities and rarities, much of it previously unreleased. The five Red Krayola demos (some of which would be re-recorded for their first LP) are prime acid folk, especially "Hurricane Fighter Plane," one of the closest American approximations of Syd Barrett-era Pink Floyd. The Chapparrals' "I Tried So Hard" is gutsy punk-pop, Thursday's Children's "A Part of You" is reminiscent of the mid-period Zombies, and the Emperors' "I Want My Woman" is growling garage punk. Side four is devoted entirely to 13th Floor Elevators/Roky Erickson rarities, including a beautiful acoustic version of "Splash I" and the rare single by Roky's pre-Elevators group the Spades. In this company, side three -- which has unexceptional straight blues material, including a song by Lightnin' Hopkins -- is a misfit, but psychedelic collectors will want the record for the rock material. ~ Richie Unterberger

  • Critic Reviews
    Record Collector (magazine) (p.97) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "[T]he gnarly 'I Tried So Hard' by The Chapparrals and a mono mix of the magnificently orgiastic 'Fire Engine' by the Elevators."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $12.53
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for