CD Essential Montreux (CD 6898612),
back to browsing

Essential Montreux

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. All Your Love
    2. Midnight Blues
    3. You Don't Love Me
    4. Texas Strut
    5. Moving On
    6. Too Tired
    7. Cold Cold Feeling
    8. Further on Up the Road
    9. King of the Blues
    10. Stop Messing Around
    11. Blues Is Alright, The
    12. Messiah Will Come Again, The
    0. DISC 2:
    1. If You Be My Baby
    2. Long Grey Mare
    3. Oh Pretty Woman
    4. I Loved Another Woman
    5. Merry-Go-Round
    6. Stumble, The
    7. Need Your Love So Bad
    8. You Don't Love Me
    9. Key to Love
    10. All Your Love
    11. Since I Met You Baby
    12. Blues Is Alright, The
    13. Stop Messing Around
    14. Jumping at Shadows
    0. DISC 3:
    1. One Good Reason
    2. One Fine Day
    3. Cold Wind Blows
    4. I've Found My Love in You
    5. Always There for You
    6. Oh Pretty Woman
    7. Walking by Myself
    8. Business as Usual
    9. Out in the Fields
    10. Over the Hills and Far Away
    11. Parisienne Walkways
    0. DISC 4:
    1. Walking by Myself
    2. Since I Met You Baby
    3. Need Your Love So Bad
    4. Tore Down
    5. You Don't Love Me
    6. All Your Love
    7. Still Got the Blues
    8. Too Tired
    9. Sky Is Crying, The
    10. Further on Up the Road
    11. Fire
    12. Parisienne Walkways
    0. DISC 5:
    1. You Upset Me Baby
    2. Cold Black Night
    3. Stormy Monday
    4. Oh Pretty Woman
    5. All Your Love
    6. Still Got the Blues
    7. Too Tired
    8. How Many Lies
    9. Fire
    10. Enough of the Blues
    11. Prophet, The
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 20158

  • Credits

    Personnel: Albert Collins (vocals, guitar).
    Liner Note Author: James McNair.
    Recording information: The Montreux Jazz Festival (07/07/1990-07/06/2001).
    This five-disc box collects as many complete concerts by Irish blues-rock guitarist Gary Moore, recorded in 1990, 1995, 1997, 1999, and 2001 at the Montreux Jazz Festival. Some might call this too much material, especially given the number of songs that recur (four versions of "All Your Love," three each of "Oh Pretty Woman," "Too Tired," and "You Don't Love Me," and two each of "The Blues Is Alright," "Further on Up the Road," "Need Your Love So Bad," "Parisienne Walkways," "Since I Met You Baby," "Still Got the Blues," "Stop Messing Around," and "Walking by Myself"), but there is in fact substantial variation from disc to disc. The obvious outlier is the 1990 disc, on which Moore is joined for four superlative songs by legendary Texas guitarist Albert Collins. But the 1997 concert finds Moore moving from straight Chicago-style blues to an alternative metal roar, the guitar cranked up ferociously loud and backed by a mix of live instruments, occasionally chintzy synths, and programmed beats. By 1999, he's returned to the blues, albeit a hard-rocking version that's still closer in spirit to Blueshammer than Buddy Guy. The 2001 set is a mixed bag, running the gamut from a restrained take on "Stormy Monday" to an almost punk rock sprint through Jimi Hendrix's "Fire" and the amp-frying closing instrumental "The Prophet." At each concert, he's backed by a sympathetic and skilled band (including horns in 1990 and 1995), which only draws attention to one of this set's biggest flaws -- the total lack of information. Concert dates are provided, but no personnel listings or songwriting credits. It's a shame that the backing musicians are so ill-served, but otherwise, any serious Moore fan would do well to pick this set up and spend an afternoon or two wallowing in six hours of screaming blues-rock guitar. ~ Phil Freeman

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $32.21
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for