CD Fanfare in the Garden (759656039925) (CD 978132),
back to browsing

Fanfare in the Garden (759656039925)

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Aerosol Burns
    2. Quality Crayon Wax O.K.
    3. Order Form, The
    4. Shabby Abbott
    5. Wake Up
    6. Albert
    7. World Friction
    8. Collecting Dust
    9. Popcorn Boy
    10. Music Is a Better Noise
    11. Tame the Neighbors
    12. Moontown
    13. Fanfare in the Garden
    14. Brute Fury
    15. Rat Alley
    16. Martian Man
    17. Pedigree Charm
    18. Crystal Gazing
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Wonderful Offer
    2. Hiss and Shake
    3. Horrible Party
    4. On the Internet
    5. Barbie Be Happy
    6. No More Fiction
    7. Not Me
    8. Under the Great City
    9. Love Eternal
    10. Beautiful & the Damned, The
    11. Marika
    12. Soul
    13. Stay High
    14. Stereo
    15. Born in Flames
    16. Do You Believe in Christmas? - (previously unreleased)
    17. Essential Logic - (previously unreleased)
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 399

  • Credits
    EngineerStephen Lewis III

    Essential Logic: Lora Logic (vocals, saxophone); Phil Legg (guitar, bass); Charles Hayward, Richard Tea (drums).
    Producers: Geoff Travis, Adam Kidron, Red Crayola.
    Recorded between 1983 & 1997. Includes liner notes by Greil Marcus.
    Personnel: Gary Valentine (vocals, guitar, percussion); Lora Logic (vocals, saxophone, xylophone); David Farren (vocals, double bass, percussion); Nick Pretzel (vocals); Stuart Action, William Bennett, Phil Legg (guitar); Sarasvati (piano); Eddie Stevens (keyboards); Rich-Tea, Richard Tee, Charles Hayward (drums).
    Liner Note Author: Greil Marcus.
    Recording information: Lora's Home (1978-1998).
    Photographer: Roy Tee.
    Unknown Contributor Roles: Gina Birch; Mayo Thompson.
    Consider Fanfare in the Garden another debt paid by Kill Rock Stars, the label that did another admirable thing two years prior with their reissue of Kleenex/Liliput. Just as crucial as that release, if not more so, Fanfare in the Garden takes its own place as an unassailable piece of post-punk history. If there's any group that exemplified the biting lyrics/fun sounds combination that several post-punk bands made their stock-in-trade, it's Essential Logic, a band centered around ex-X-Ray Spex saxophonist Lora Logic. Logic and her bandmates whipped up an alarming squall, made all the more unique by the leader's sax squonks and equally frantic vocals, which are prone to wild shifts of pitch and tone -- from chirps to yelps, from swoops to flutters -- that regularly find ways to contort traditional pronunciations. Logic's phonetic spelling of "aerosol burns," for instance, would look something like "ayyr-O-sawl burr-URNZ." Like a lot of their peers -- early Scritti Politti, the Pop Group, the Slits, Liliput, the Raincoats -- they sound incredibly tight one moment and then sound as if they're quickly marching toward the brink of unraveling. Nearly every song is a trebly buzz filled with jerky rhythms and dissonant screeches -- qualities bred by an exhilarating form of feral oomph. With all that said, Fanfare in the Garden is far from thorough and picks some questionable material for inclusion. While the bulk of the band's lone album, two EPs, and several singles are provided, this was the perfect chance to put the entirety of those releases back into circulation. And though some of Logic's early solo material is welcomed -- particularly the relatively tame but delightful 1981 single "Wonderful Offer" -- much of the space on the second disc is occupied by inferior, albeit decent, late-'90s recordings. Regardless, the compilation is unskippable. ~ Andy Kellman

  • Critic Reviews
    Uncut (9/03, p.123) - 5 stars out of 5 - "...This generous two-disc collection brilliantly captures the band's brief moment in the sun..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $16.90
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for