CD Fifth (CD 1248740),
back to browsing


  • 1. All White
    2. Drop
    3. M C
    4. As If
    5. L B O
    6. Pigling Bland
    7. Bone
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): MHCP615

  • Credits

    Soft Machine: Elton Dean (alto saxophone, saxello, electric piano); Mike Ratledge (electric piano, organ); Hugh Hopper (bass); Roy Babbington (acoustic bass); Phil Howard, John Marshall (drums).
    FIVE was the first album Soft Machine made after the departure of Robert Wyatt. Since the previous album (FOUR), Wyatt was no longer writing any of Soft Machine's material. Wyatt went on to found Matching Mole while his former band continued in the direction they'd already charted. Seven of these pieces were written primarily by keyboardist Mike Ratledge, with saxophonist Elton Dean, new drummer John Marshall, and original bassist Hugh Hopper contributing one each. The music is rich with experimentation. On "Drop" the sound of dripping water--beautifully spread across the stereo panorama--tangos with an electric piano before the rest of the ensemble comes in. Hopper's "M C" sets an airy mood not unlike that of the first Weather Report album. "Pigling Bland" presents Ratledge's subtle union of melody and inventively architectural rhythm.

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $25.27
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for