CD Fillmore: The Last Days (CD 380941),
back to browsing

Fillmore: The Last Days

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Hello - John Walker
    2. Hello Friends - Lamb
    3. So Fine - Elvin Bishop Group
    4. Party till the Cows Come Home - Elvin Bishop
    5. Pana - Malo
    6. Poppa Can Play - The Sons of Champlin
    7. White Bird - It's a Beautiful Day
    8. Fresh Air - Quicksilver Messenger Service
    9. Mojo - Quicksilver Messenger Service
    10. Introduction - Bill Graham
    11. Back on the Streets Again - Tower of Power
    12. Baby's Callin' Me Home - Boz Scaggs
    13. I Just Want to Make Love to You - Cold Blood
    14. Passion Flower - Stoneground
    15. Henry - New Riders of the Purple Sage
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Casey Jones - Grateful Dead
    2. Johnny B. Goode - Grateful Dead
    3. Introduction - Bill Graham
    4. Keep Your Lamps Trimmed and Burnin' - Hot Tuna
    5. Incident at Neshabur - Santana
    6. In a Silent Way - Santana
    7. Jam Session (We Gonna Rock) - Taj Mahal/Elvin Bishop/Boz Scaggs & Friends
    8. Jam Session (Long and Tall) - Taj Mahal/Elvin Bishop/Boz Scaggs & Friends
    9. Final Night Jam Session: Goodbye / Greensleeves - Bill Graham/Ralph Vaughan Williams
    10. Words With Bill Graham
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 31390

  • Credits
    ProducerBill Graham

    These recordings were digitally mastered from the original master tapes. The package contains a 32 page CD size booklet complete with liner notes, personal notes from Bill Graham and full color reproductions of the original Fillmore posters.
    On Independence Day in 1971, the Fillmore West closed its doors, leaving a Bay Area landmark in its wake. During the closing week, proprietor Bill "Uncle Bobo" Graham selected a few of his favorite artists to help him send the venerable venue out in style. The festivities were documented on film and tape, the results of which were issued the following year as both a full-length cinematic feature film and three-LP box set. The latter also featuring a bonus 7" record containing a few "Words with Bill Graham." Initial pressings also came packaged with an original "closing week" poster, a ticket from one of the hundreds of legendary shows held in the Fillmore between November 6, 1965, and July 4, 1971, as well as a commemorative liner notes booklet, which, among other things, included a complete list of every show held at the venue. Musically, the discs feature a who's who of rock music circa 1971, most -- if not all -- of whom began their collective journeys in the Bay Area music scene at the time. The Grateful Dead ("Casey Jones" and "Johnny B. Goode"), Quicksilver Messenger Service" ("Fresh Air" and "Mojo"), and Santana ("Incident at Neshabur" and "In a Silent Way") all make strong showings. As do some of the lesser-known artists, such as Malo ("Pana") and Lamb ("Hello Friends"). Last Days of the Fillmore includes some amazing performances from It's a Beautiful Day ("White Bird"), as well as the stunningly powerful "Baby's Calling Me Home" by Boz Scaggs -- no doubt an homage to his stint with the Steve Miller Band -- plus a definitive version of "Keep Your Lamps Trimmed and Burnin'" from Hot Tuna -- who are the only representatives from the Jefferson Airplane, perhaps the one San Francisco band that is most conspicuously absent from the proceedings. The "Words with Bill Graham" interview allows Graham to personally express his thanks to the people who made the Fillmore such a success and to give some insight into the changing dynamics [read: money and drugs] that so radically altered his ability to adequately provide both artists and attendees with the same high-quality performances and venue for a reasonable price. ~ Lindsay Planer

0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $17.42
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for