CD For a Decade of Sin: 11 Years of Bloodshot Records (CD 1049849),
back to browsing

For a Decade of Sin: 11 Years of Bloodshot Records

  • 1. Blood, Sweat & Murder - Scott H. Biram
    2. De-Railed - 16 Horsepower
    3. Little Glass of Wine - Paul Burch/Ralph Stanley/Clinch Mountain Boys
    4. Close Your House Down - Cordero
    5. Ocean Size - Bobby Bare, Jr.
    6. Behind That Locked Door - My Morning Jacket
    7. Plan, The - Matt Mays
    8. Little White Pills - The Meat Purveyors
    9. Living Hell, A - The Bottle Rockets
    10. Do You Want to Go Somewhere? - Richard Buckner
    11. Lonesome Roads - Carla Bozulich
    12. Sputnik 57 - The Minus 5
    13. I'm Yer Huckleberry - Nine Pound Hammer
    14. No Way Out But Down - Graham Lindsey
    15. Tumbling Tumbleweeds - Sally Timms
    16. Harridan of Yore - Graham Parker/The Figgs
    17. Where Are All My Friends? - Deadstring Brothers
    18. Chicken Road - Kelly Hogan/Wooden Leg
    19. Shake a Tail Feather - Andre Williams/The Sadies
    20. Tearin' My Hair Out - Ninety Nine Tales
    21. Love Train - The Yayhoos
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Two Way Action - Nora O'Connor
    2. Ship to Spain - Crooked Fingers
    3. I'd Be Lonesome - Old 97's
    4. How Many Biscuits Can You Eat? - Split Lip Rayfield
    5. I Want to Destroy You - Dollar Store
    6. Cold Company - Mary Lou Lord
    7. Now I Know - Milton Mapes
    8. Magnificent Seven - Jon Rauhouse
    9. Call of the Wreckin' Ball, The - Jim & Jennie and the Pinetops/John Doe
    10. Got Just What I Want - Devil in a Woodpile
    11. Josephine - Puerto Muerto
    12. Juke Joint Jumping - Hank Williams III/Wayne Hancock
    13. Red Head - Blanche
    14. Lost Soul, The - The Handsome Family
    15. Tell Me - Catfish Haven
    16. People Who Died - Porter Hall Tennessee
    17. Berliners - The Court & Spark
    18. How Long (Have You Been Gone)? - Misery Boys/Rex Hobart
    19. How Can I Be So Thirsty Today? - Petty Booka/The Meat Purveyors
    20. Burn the Flag - Starkweathers
    21. I Fought the Law - The Waco Brothers
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 112

  • Credits
    ProducerMatt Mays; Colin Andrews; Don Smith; Eric Ambel; 16 Horsepower; Brian Pulito; Erik Lloyd Walkoff; Gary Schepers; Jon Rauhouse; Mark Deutrom; Mark Nevers; Milton Mapes; Nick Saloman; Paul Burch; Pete Donnelly; Steve Deutsch; Tom Tatman; Bill Anderson; Scott H. Biram; Bobby Bare, Jr.; Carla Bozulich; Charlie Dos Santos
    EngineerColin Mahoney; Chad Meise; Chris Carr; Jan-Erik Tormoen; Dean Bratcher; Mike Janus; Gary Schepers; Jay Newland; John Baccigaluppi; Ken Sluiter; Mark Haines; Martin Feveyear; Mike Hagler; Mike Martin; Andy Gerber; Pete Donnelly; Rennie Sparks; Steve Albini; Tim Hatfield; Tom Tatman; John Smerek; Bob Ferbrache; Randy Wilson; Brett Sparks; Charlie Dos Santos

    Performers include: My Morning Jacket, Bottle Rockets, Richard Buckner, Crooked Fingers, Old 97s.
    Personnel: Dan John Miller (vocals, guitar, fiddle); Matt Mays, Kurt Marschke, Dean Schlabowske, Richard Smith , Jarret Murphy, Hank Williams III, Jim Krewson, Vincent Martini, Joel Paterson, Mary Lou Lord, Nora O'Connor, Paul Burch, Ani Cordero, Rhett Miller, Wayne Hancock, Bobby Bare, Jr., Carla Bozulich (vocals, guitar); George Hunter , Greg Vanderpool (vocals, acoustic guitar); Gary Roadarmel, Brian Henneman (vocals, electric guitar); Graham Lindsey (vocals, banjo); Jennie Benford (vocals, mandolin); Andrew Bird (vocals, violin); Rick "Cookin'" Sherry (vocals, harmonica, drums); Eric Bachmann, Jo Walston, Scott McCaughey (vocals, piano); Joe Camarillo (vocals, drums); Molly Conley, Kim Martini, J.B. Rodgers, Masha Marjieh, Jeff Eaton, Andre Williams & His New Group, Andy Patil, Lisa Rogers, Alan Doughty, Kathleen Edwards, Mike Ireland, Murry Hammond, Ralph Stanley, Rex Hobart, Sally Timms, Scott Luallen, Cherilyn DiMond, Robert Kearns, Christa Meyer (vocals); Kirk Rundstrom (guitar, background vocals); Dallas Good, Earl Crim, Duane Denison, Eddie Biebel, Dinko Tomljanovic, Dalibor Pavicic, Sean Schroeder, Joel Patterson, Michael "Holler" Lemon, Ken Bethea, Mike Gent, Nick Saloman, Pete Stiles, Tim Kelley, Travis Good, Bill Anderson (guitar); Jon Rauhouse (acoustic guitar, electric guitar); Peter Buck (acoustic guitar, mandolin); Chris Mills, Eric Johnson (acoustic guitar); Clifford Brown , John Horton (electric guitar); Nels Cline (lap steel guitar); Eric Mardis (banjo, background vocals); Brad Hutchinson, Patch Boyle, Steve Sparkman (banjo); Wayne Gottstine (mandolin, background vocals); Jim Fredley (mandolin); Darcie Deaville, Fats Kaplin (fiddle); Dave Feeny (harmonica, melodica, background vocals); Cassius (accordion); Felipe Flores (baritone saxophone); Jason Parker (trumpet); Ross Westerbur (piano, organ, background vocals); Nick Grosso (piano); Chris Eckman (organ); Scott Bricklin, Scott Ligon (keyboards); Kaveh Rastegar (double bass); Chris Rhoades, Barton Carroll (upright bass); Tim Baker , William King (drums, percussion); Chris Verene, Ryan Farnham, Paul Lemon, Mark Ortmann, Roberto J. Sanchez, Brian Pulito, Hrvoje Zaborac, Kevin O'Donnell , Peter Lind Hayes, Bill Herzog, Mike Belitsky, Gerald Dowd, Ches Smith, Lisa "Jaybird" Jannon, Doni Schroader, Cisco Ryder (drums); Miranda Ziegler, Northern Iowa Drunken Men's Choir, Jessica Vohs, Weba Garretson, Rachel Haden, Philip Skarich, Tiffany Gazic (background vocals).
    Audio Mixers: Eric Ambel; Gary Schepers; Al Sutton; Mike Martin.
    Recording information: Alabama St. Station; Broom Factory; CBR Studios, Brooklyn NY; Cowboy Technical Services; East Nashville, TN; Electrical Audio, Chicago, IL; Grand Studio, Detroit, MI; Home; Jupiter Recording Studio, Seattle, WA; Kansas City, MO; King Size, Chicago, IL; Kingsize Studios, Chicago, IL; Million Yen, Chicago, IL; Neighborhood Studios, Lawrence KS; No Budget Studios; Ramble Creek Studio, Pflugerville, TX; RCA STudios, Nashville TN; Rocco & Partner, Zagreb, Croatia; Roskilde, Denmark; Strobe Studios, Chicago, IL; The Hideout.
    Photographer: Frank Swider.
    Unknown Contributor Role: Richard Buckner.
    Arranger: Scott Hirsch.
    Chicago label Bloodshot Records has built a reputation for high quality, cutting-edge alt-country since its inception in 1994. In this 11th anniversary disc (the label's laid-back business approach delayed the 10th anniversary release by a year), label artists like the Waco Brothers, Graham Parker, and the Old 97s stand alongside fellow travelers like Richard Buckner, the Handsome Family, and My Morning Jacket, as well as country music legends like Ralph Stanley, to pay tribute to the label's decade-plus of existence. In a two-CD set of newly recorded and rare tracks, highlights include Andre Williams and the Sadies' raucous "Shake a Tail Feather," Mekons chanteuse Sally Timms's hushed, ghostly "Tumbling Tumbleweeds," and Ralph Stanley and Paul Burch's classy, old-school "Glass of Wine."

  • Critic Reviews
    Uncut (p.106) - 4 stars out of 5 - "[The label is] providing shelter for all manners of weird wonders and mutant strains of country, rockabilly, punk and bluegrass."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $7.88
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for