CD Fresh from the Time Coast: The Best of 1968-1977 (CD 6238815),
back to browsing

Fresh from the Time Coast: The Best of 1968-1977

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Fresh-Garbage
    2. Uncle Jack
    3. Mechanical World
    4. Taurus
    5. Girl in Your Eye
    6. Topanga Windows
    7. I Got a Line On You
    8. It Shall Be
    9. All the Same
    10. Dream Within a Dream
    11. Aren't You Glad
    12. Dark Eyed Woman
    13. So Little Time to Fly
    14. Ground Hog
    15. I'm Truckin'
    16. New Dope in Town
    17. Prelude- Nothing to Hide
    18. Nature's Way
    19. Animal Zoo
    20. Mr. Skin
    21. When I Touch You
    22. Morning Will Come
    0. DISC 2:
    1. 1984
    2. Darkness
    3. Devil
    4. Rainbow
    5. Victim Of Society
    6. Lady of the Lakes
    7. Sunrise
    8. Joke on the Run
    9. Feeling In Time
    10. Urantia
    11. Hey Joe
    12. Holy Man
    13. Looking into Darkness
    14. Circle
    15. Other Song, The
    16. Farther Along
    17. World Eat World Dog
    18. Colossus
    19. Mega Star
    20. Don't Lock Up Your Door
    21. Stars Are Love
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 306

  • Credits

    Australia's Raven Records continues its journeys through North America's storied rock past with this two-disc compilation by Spirit, the legendary Los Angeles rock band. Spirit is unique in a number of ways, not the least of which was that they were charting hits while simultaneously exploring jazz, blues, folk, and vanguard classical music. The original quintet comprised guitarist Randy California, vocalist Jay Ferguson, keyboardist John Locke, bassist Mark Andes, and an older, accomplished, iconoclastic drummer, Ed Cassidy (California's stepfather), who had worked with Thelonious Monk and Cannonball Adderley, to name just two; he was also a founding member of the Rising Sons with Ry Cooder and Taj Mahal.
    The reason this set is the one to have is that it contains virtually every single cut by the group in its original incarnation for the labels Ode, Epic, and later, Mercury. It is virtually the only cross-licensed collection out there. It begins at the beginning with "Fresh Garbage" and "Mechanical World," which were staples of free-form FM radio in the late '60s, and continues through to the more rockist and mainstream "I Got a Line on You" and "Dark Eyed Woman," which scored in the early '70s. But there are also the strangely beautiful -- not too mention sophisticated -- pop songs such as "Nature's Way," "Morning Will Come," "Mr. Skin," and "Animal Zoo," from the band's biggest album, The 12 Dreams of Dr. Sardonicus.
    Disc one is packed with virtually every necessary cut by the band. Disc two moves a bit further afield with the single "1984," which appeared on Ode in 1969, and "Darkness," from 1972's Feedback album on Epic. It closes out those years with a pair of tracks from Kapt. Kopter & The (Fabulous) Twirly Birds in 1973 -- by which time Ferguson had gone his own way as a solo artist. Tracks five through 21 are from the various Mercury albums with a later incarnation of the band (Spirit continued until California's death by drowning in the early '90s), including numerous selections from the criminally underrated Spirit of '76 double-LP that included the band's cover of Billy Roberts' "Hey Joe," and originals such as "Lady of the Lakes" and "Feeling in Time."There are three tracks from 1975's Son of Spirit album, which was essentially a California solo effort, and finally a one each from 1976's Farther Along and 1977's Future Games: A Magical-Kahauna Dream. While the Mercury period is rightfully considered to be less exploratory than the early material, it still contains many qualities that lie outside the norm for virtually everything else that was happening in the early through mid-'70s -- not the least of which were the strange compositions of California and Cassidy, and the former's unique guitar style that imprinted itself upon every Spirit tune from inception to nadir. Add to the music wonderfully warm and rich remastered sound, and Ian McFarlane Melbourne's authoritative liner essay, and this volume becomes the only Spirit compilation worth owning. ~ Thom Jurek

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $25.07
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for