CD Great Lake Swimmers [Digipak] (CD 15768173),
back to browsing

Great Lake Swimmers [Digipak]

  • 1. Moving Pictures Silent Films
    2. Man With No Skin, The
    3. Moving, Shaking
    4. Merge, a Vessel, a Harbour
    5. I Will Never See the Sun
    6. This is Not Like Home
    7. Animals of the World, The
    8. Faithful Night, Listening
    9. Three Days At Sea (Three Lost Years)
    10. Great Lake Swimmers
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 0 6700 30932

  • Credits
    ProducerTony Dekker
    EngineerVictor Szabo

    Audio Mixers: Tony Dekker; Victor Szabo.
    With hollow hiss and insect chirping in the opening moments, Great Lake Swimmers offer up a haunting invitation to curious listeners on their self-titled first outing on Misra Records. The atmosphere that the band creates along with the production (or minimal use of production) is a testament to the recording location -- an abandoned silo in southern Ontario -- and Tony Dekker's melancholy vocals and delicate acoustic picking. Great Lake Swimmers tap into an essence of times gone by, unfolding a sad vibe that doesn't force itself on you, much like Damien Jurado or Sun Kil Moon's frequent moments. From the rolling opener, "Moving Pictures, Silent Films," to the dark gospel feel of "I Will Never See the Sun" or, finally, the angelic and resonant closer, Great Lake Swimmers play music like a dream you cannot shake. A solid, haunting debut. ~ David Serra

  • Critic Reviews
    Magnet (p.95) - "[With] some stunning surprises. Tony Dekker delivers simple, devastating refrains..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $17.82
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for