CD Guilty Pleasures [Digipak] (CD 1126189),
back to browsing

Guilty Pleasures [Digipak]

  • 1. Open Fire
    2. Wash em Away
    3. Dead End Street
    4. Desperation
    5. Liar
    6. Uncivilized Bastard
    7. Move to Press
    8. All on the Outside
    9. Action
    10. Bland New Age
    11. Shut Us Out
    12. Not Alone
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): BYO-11

  • Credits

    Wednesday Night Heroes: Graeme MacKinnon (spoken vocals); Konrad Andrelunas (guitar); Luke MacKinnon (bass guitar); Jason Zazula (unknown instrument).
    Being proud Canadians playing politically tinged old-school punk rock, it's a wonder the Wednesday Night Heroes weren't signed to Youth Brigade's Better Youth Organization label all along. Guilty Pleasures is the Edmonton, Alberta, quartet's third and best album, the perfect meeting point of early-'80s hardcore (Social Distortion, Naked Raygun, and, yes, Youth Brigade) and the late-'70s second-wave of U.K. street punks led by the Cockney Rejects and Sham 69: these songs are fundamentally melodic and not particularly speed-obsessed, to the point that the listener can actually hear and comprehend Graeme McKinnon's astute but not strident lyrics. Highlights include the spirited antiwar tune "Action" and the early Black Flag-like chant-along "Open Fire," songs guaranteed to unite punks old and new into one giant posi mosh. ~ Stewart Mason

  • Critic Reviews
    Alternative Press (p.169) - 3.5 stars out of 5 -- "[They] deliver a bracing, nitro-juiced third album with GUILTY PLEASURES, handling the high-throttle hardcore rhythms with a steady hand..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $14.73
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for