CD Guitars, Cadillacs, Etc., Etc.: Expanded [Remaster] (CD 532569),
back to browsing

Guitars, Cadillacs, Etc., Etc.: Expanded [Remaster]

    1. This Drinkin' Will Kill Me
    2. It Won't Hurt
    3. I'll Be Gone
    4. Floyd Country
    5. You're the One
    6. Twenty Years
    7. Please Daddy
    8. Miner's Prayer
    9. I Sang Dixie
    10. Bury Me
    11. Honky Tonk Man
    12. It Won't Hurt
    13. I'll Be Gone
    14. South of Cincinnati
    15. Bury Me
    16. Guitars, Cadillacs
    17. Twenty Years
    18. Ring of Fire
    19. Miner's Prayer
    20. Heartaches by the Number
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Honky Tonk Man
    2. Guitars, Cadillacs
    3. Rocky Road Blues
    4. Heartaches by the Number
    5. I'll Be Gone
    6. It Won't Hurt
    7. My Bucket's Got a Hole in It
    8. South of Cincinnati
    9. Mystery Train
    10. Ring of Fire
    11. Since I Started Drinking Again
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 74135

  • Credits
    ProducerPete Anderson

    GUITARS, CADILLACS, ETC., ETC. is an expanded version of an EP of the same title released on Oak Records in 1984.
    Personnel: Dwight Yoakam (vocals, acoustic guitar, background vocals); Maria McKee (vocals); Pete Anderson (electric guitar, 6-string bass); Jay Dee Maness, Ed Black (pedal steel); David Mansfield (mandolin, dobro); Brantley Kearns (fiddle, background vocals); Glen D. Hardin, Gene Taylor (piano); J.D. Foster (bass, background vocals); Jeff Donavan (drums).
    Engineers: Dusty Wakeman (tracks 1, 5-6, 10); Brian Levi (tracks 2-4, 7-9).
    Recorded at Excalibur Studio, Studio City, California and Capitol Studio B, Hollywood, California.
    Includes a bonus disc.
    Personnel: Dwight Yoakam (vocals, guitar); Jerry McGee (guitar); Jay Dee Maness (pedal steel guitar); David Mansfield (mandolin); Glen D. Hardin (piano); Robert Wilson (bass guitar); Stu Perry (drums).
    Just as Waylon Jennings and Willie Nelson had done a decade-plus earlier, Dwight Yoakam arrived out of left field in the mid '80s with a fresh, honest sound that breathed fresh air into what had become a bland, commercialized country music scene. The later-for-the-b.s. New Traditionalist movement had already gotten under way via such artists as Rosanne Cash and John Anderson, but Yoakam hammered the message home in a major way, appealing to the pop/rock audience with his swaggering, bad-boy image and visceral approach.
    GUITARS, CADILLACS, ETC., ETC. set the template Yoakam would follow for much of his career. The album is heavily influenced by the mid-'60s Bakersfield sound of Merle Haggard and (especially) Buck Owens. Some of the songs here are updated versions of old-school country classics (Johnny Cash's "Ring of Fire," Johnny Horton's "Honky Tonk Man"), but even Yoakam's original tunes sound like they were cut from the same vintage cloth.

  • Critic Reviews
    Spin (p.104) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "[Yoakam] mixed a folkie wistfulness with fast-moving honky-tonk drive, pushing country ahead a two-step or two."
    Q (p.150) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "Dwight Yoakam's debut was a fantastically twangy blend of tears, beers, and blue-collar grit..."
    Dirty Linen (p.61) - "This is a darn good release for Yoakam fans who really want to get a sense of his output and energy back when he made a name for himself..."
    No Depression (p.102) - "GUITARS, CADILLACS remains, more than two decades on, a remarkable -- even essential -- record."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $19.00
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for