CD Hang on to a Dream [Atom] [CD Boxset] [2 discs] [883717000521] (CD 1097763),
back to browsing

Hang on to a Dream [Atom] [CD Boxset] [2 discs] [883717000521]

  • 1. Flower King of Flies
    2. Thoughts of Emerlist Davjack, The
    3. Bonnie K
    4. Rondo
    5. War and Peace
    6. Tantalising Maggie
    7. Dawn
    8. Cry of Eugene, The
    9. America - (6:06 single version)
    10. Diamond Hard Apples of the Moon
    11. Azrael - (take 1)
    12. She Belongs to Me
    0. DISC 2:
    1. America - (2nd amendment)
    2. Little Arabella
    3. Happy Freuds
    4. Intermezzo From "The Karelia Suite"
    5. Don Edito el Gruva
    6. Medley: Symphony For Group and Orchestra: 19:23, Prelude:: 1st Movement: Awakening / 2nd Movement: Realisation / 3rd Movement: Acceptance "Brandenberger / 4th Movement: Denial/Coda - Extension To Big Note
    7. Azrael Revisited
    8. Hang on to a Dream
    9. Diary of an Empty Day
    10. For Example
    11. Rondo
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 20005

  • Credits

    Liner Note Author: Chris White .
    This double-CD set assembles together all of the Immediate Records recordings of the Nice under one cover, reshuffling the contents of their self-titled third album in order to make it all fit. That means that it isn't a chronological experience (at least, not without some shifting between discs near the end of each), but otherwise it is musically very rewarding and, in keeping with the spirit of the band's music, a lot of fun. The volume level is not quite as high as one would have hoped on a CD of this vintage, but the source material is still very clean and there's a lot of detail with minimal extraneous noise (compared with early CD issues of this material) if one decides to push the amplification. It's also interesting to hear the Nice evolve from a psychedelic quartet to a progressive rock trio and get bolder and more intense on their instruments as they go along, culminating with the live Fillmore East performances from the third album. The annotation is reasonably thorough, and the whole package gives one a good overview of one of the groups that successfully bridged the gap from flower power to art rock, and in the process never forgot that the music was supposed to be fun as well. ~ Bruce Eder

0 Stars 0 average rating
  • Genre: Rock
  • Label: Atom 20005
  • Distributor: MVD
  • Analog/Digital: n/a
  • Mono/Stereo: Stereo
  • Studio/Live: Studio
  • UPC: 883717000521
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $11.48
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for