CD Head Music [Deluxe Edition] [Digipak] (CD 7048276),
back to browsing

Head Music [Deluxe Edition] [Digipak]

  • 0. DISC 1: HEAD MUSIC:
    1. Electricity
    2. Savoir Faire
    3. Can't Get Enough
    4. Everything Will Flow
    5. Down
    6. She's In Fashion
    7. Asbestos
    8. Head Music
    9. Elephant Man
    10. Hi-Fi
    11. Indian Strings
    12. He's Gone
    13. Crack In the Union Jack
    14. Indian Strings [Brett's Original 8 Track Demo]
    15. Everything Will Flow [Protocol Demo]
    16. He's Gone [Protocol Demo]
    17. She's In Fashion [Protocol Demo]
    0. DISC 2: THE B-SIDES:
    1. Leaving
    2. Popstar
    3. Killer
    4. Implement Yeah!
    5. Waterloo
    6. See That Girl
    7. Bored
    8. Pieces of My Mind
    9. Jubilee
    10. God's Gift
    11. Seascape
    12. Crackhead
    13. Let Go
    14. Since You Went Away
    15. Situations
    16. Read My Mind
    17. Poor Little Rich Girl - (featuring Raissa)
    18. Heroin
    19. Music Like Sex - (previously unreleased)
    1. Electricity [Video]
    2. She's In Fashion [Video]
    3. Can't Get Enough [Video]
    4. Everything Will Flow [Video]
    5. Can't Get Enough [Australian Edition] [Video]
    6. Recording "Head Music"
    7. She [Black Sessions, Paris] [Video] - (live)
    8. She's In Fashion - (live)
    9. Electricity - (live)
    10. Everything Will Flow - (live)
    11. Beautiful Ones - (live)
    12. Indian Strings - (live)
    13. Savoir Faire - (live)
    14. Crack In the Union Jack - (live)
    15. Saturday Night - (live)
    16. [Bonus Materials]
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): EDSG 8004

  • Credits
    ProducerSteven Osbourne
    EngineerPaul Corkett; Ben Hillier

    The London Suede: Brett Anderson (vocals); Richard Oakes (guitar); Neil Codling (synthesizer); Mat Osman (bass); Simon Gilbert (drums).
    Personnel: Brett Anderson (vocals); Richard Oakes (guitar); Neil Codling (synthesizer); Mat Osman (electric bass); Simon Gilbert (drums).
    Audio Mixers: Steven Osbourne; Danton Supple.
    Liner Note Author: Brett Anderson .
    Recording information: Asylum Studios (04/16/1999).
    Photographer: Simon Gilbert.
    Neo-swinging London psychedelic popsters are back with a platter of mysterious melodies and lysergic atmospheres recalling the best of many previous eras of rock and pop. The salacious "Can't Get Enough" rocks like a cross between "Ballroom Blitz"-era Sweet and mid-1960s Pink Floyd. The forlorn ballad "Down" recalls pre-glitter Elton John and ZIGGY STARDUST-era David Bowie. The moody/dreamy, mod-ish "Asbestos" wouldn't be out of place in the soundtrack of a mid-1960s romantic spy thriller (the on-the-beach or the sidewalk-cafT scene). Singer Brett Anderson sings a bit like a subdued yet seductive Bono, and the Suede mix trippy-ness, street-rat-wannabe trashy-ness, catchy tunes and crunchy yet restrained rockin' guitars for a distinctive, hedonistic listen. Fans of old and "new" psychedelia should check out this Suede release.

  • Critic Reviews
    Rolling Stone (6/10/99, pp.122-123) - out of 5 - Good - "...HEAD MUSIC finds these glitter gold diggers still on a creative roll....a truly glorious rush of sexy guitar trash."
    Spin (7/99, pp.131-2) - 7 (out of 10) - "...HEAD MUSIC embraces the supposed contradiction of rocking out with a dance-music mentor....a hard precision that brings back the brutality of early Suede while lending a complex sheen to simplistic material..."
    Q (1/00, p.87) - Included in Q Magazine's "50 Best Albums of 1999."
    Q (6/99, p.108) - 4 Stars (out of 5) - "...this, their fourth proper album, is rooted more in rhythms and electronics than their previous offerings....easily - almost effortlessly - their best and most wholly realised album to date..."
    Alternative Press (8/99, p.90) - 4 (out of 5) - "...dramatic, fey and fearless as its predecessors....their best album yet..."
    Magnet (8-9/99, p.80) - "...most ruefully fantastic....The band's songs...are odes to the utter worthlessness of it all, burnt up on the edges with narcotics and romance....The London Suede is brighter than ever."
    CMJ (5/17/99, p.3) - "...The record slams glam-rock into post-punk, leaving only incandescence in its wake....Ranging from hooky rock rampages to woeful symphonic ballads, HEAD MUSIC is a triumphant release...casts these charming men as the prime contenders to save the Britpop empire."
    Melody Maker (5/1/99, p.37) - 4 1/2 stars (out of 5) - "...quite possibly [their] best 'proper' album....[it] remains suedier than the suediest piece of suede in the World of Suede showrooms. It is, in short, absoruddylutely marvellous..."
    Guitar Magazine (7/99, p.96) - "...Anderson's songs have become more blatantly erotic odes to excess, from sex and stardom to drugs and the high life....[he] be a skilled melody writer..."
    NME (Magazine) (5/1/99, p.38) - 7 out of 10 - "...It's sex, it's drugs, it's suburban ennui, it's frequently hilarious....Suede may be writing some of the most exciting pop of their career..."
    Pitchfork (Website) - "HEAD MUSIC is neon to COMING UP's day-glo, and it's aged well sonically -- it is easily the band's most underappreciated album."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $17.48
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for