CD I'm Gonna Be a Country Girl Again (CD 168348),
back to browsing

I'm Gonna Be a Country Girl Again

  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 792802A

  • Credits

    Personnel: Buffy Sainte-Marie (vocals, guitar, mouth-bow); Grady Martin (electric guitar); Ray Edenton, Velma Smith (guitar); Harald Rugg (steel guitar); Sonny Osborne (banjo); Grover Lavender (fiddle); Floyd Cramer (piano); Wayne Moss, Jerry Shook, Junior Huskey (bass); Buddy Harman, Bill Ackerman (drums); The Jordanaires (background vocals).
    And, one hopes, she'll never be a country girl again. Buffy Sainte-Marie went to Nashville to record this album, with help from such session vets as Grady Martin, Floyd Cramer, and the Jordanaires. As expected, it doesn't gel that well, although it's not as poor as you might fear. Sainte-Marie's strengths, though, are best amplified by folk material; her vibrato isn't suited for Nashville country. Predictably, the best songs are the ones which most recall her early folkie work. "Now That the Buffalo's Gone," like several of her better songs, touches upon Native American issues, and the stark, somber "Tall Trees in Georgia," a solo acoustic guitar piece, seems like a refugee from an earlier album. ~ Richie Unterberger

0 Stars 0 average rating
  • Genre: Rock
  • Label: Wel 792802A
  • Distributor: EMD
  • Analog/Digital: DDD
  • Studio/Live: Studio
  • UPC: 015707928021
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $10.99
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for