CD I'm Ready [Tevin Campbell] (CD 614683),
back to browsing

I'm Ready [Tevin Campbell]

  • 1. Can We Talk?
    2. Don't Say Goodbye Girl
    3. Interlude
    4. Halls of Desire, The
    5. I'm Ready
    6. What Do I Say
    7. Uncle Sam
    8. Interlude
    9. Paris 1798430
    10. Always in My Heart
    11. Interlude
    12. Shhh
    13. Brown Eyed Girl
    14. Infant Child
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 45388

  • Credits

    Personnel: Tevin Campbell (vocals), Babyface (various instruments), Vernon "Ice" Black (acoustic guitar), Levi Seacer Jr., Charlie Hunter (guitar), Preston Glass (sitar), Eric Leeds & Atlanta Bliss (horns), Marc Russo (soprano saxophone), Narada Michael Walden (piano), Tommy Barbarella (keyboards), Mike Mani, Monty Seward (keyboards, programming), Frank "Killer Bee" Martin (synthesizers), Sonny T (bass), Michael B. (drums), Kirk Johnson (percussion), Louis "Kingpin" Biancaniello (programming), William "DJ" Graves (scratches), Kathleen Johnson, Claytoven Richardson, Sandy Griffith, Nikita Germaine, Jeanie Tracy, Tony Lindsay, Skyler Jett, Nicole Bradin, Leslie Matthews, Ellen Keating, Prince (background vocals).
    Producers: Daryl Simmons, Prince, Narada Michael Walden, Babyface.
    Engineers: Donnell Sullivan, David "Frazeman" Frazer, Marc "Elvis" Reyburn, Steve Noonan, Eric Anest, Tom Garneau, Ray Hahnfeldt, Rail Rogut, Brad Gilderman, Jim Zumpano.
    All songs written or co-written by Babyface, Narada Michael Walden or Paisley Park (Prince).
    "Can We Talk" (Babyface/Daryl Simmons) was nominated for Best R&B Song and Best R&B Vocal Performance in the 36th Annual Grammy Awards.
    "I'm Ready" was nominated for Best Male R&B Vocal Performance, and I'M READY was nominated for Best R&B Album in the 37th Annual Grammy Awards.
    Personnel: Tevin Campbell (background vocals); Vernon "Ice" Black (guitar, acoustic guitar); Levi Seacer, Jr. (guitar); Charlie Hunter (electric guitar); Preston Glass (sitar, background vocals); Rail Jon Rogut (strings); Marc Russo (soprano saxophone); Eric Leeds, Atlanta Bliss (horns); Narada Michael Walden (piano); Louis Biancaniello, Mike Mani, Monty Seward (keyboards, programming); Tommy Barbarella (keyboards); Frank Martin (string synthesizer); Michael B. (drums); Kirk Johnson (percussion, scratches); Sonny T. (percussion); William "DJ" Graves (scratches); Sandy Griffith, Ellen Keating, Nicole Bradin, Jeanie Tracy, Kathleen Johnson, Nikita Germaine, Skyler Jett, Babyface, Tony Lindsay (background vocals).
    Audio Mixers: Dave Way; David Frazer; Michael Brauer; Barney Perkins.
    Recording information: Doppler Recording Studios, Atlanta, GA; Elumba Recording Studios, Hollywood, CA; Louis Biancaniello's Studio, Novato, CA; Ocean Way Recording Studios, Hollywood, CA; Olympic Studios, London, England; Paisley park; Record Plant Studios, Los Angeles, CA; Tarpan Studios, San Rafael, CA.
    Photographer: F. Scott Schafer.
    Unknown Contributor Role: Louis Biancaniello.
    Arrangers: Louis Biancaniello; Narada Michael Walden; Paisley Park.
    Tevin Campbell emerged as a true soul singer with I'm Ready, his second album. The Texas native had the good fortune of working with some of the best producers and writers in the business to construct an excellent work. The first single, "Can We Talk," was written and produced by Babyface and his longtime partner, Daryl Simmons. Behind a percussive rhythm track and a sensuous melody, Campbell patiently steps into the lyric, but soon bows to an urgent cry. The infectious chorus has a timeless ring and there's no secret as to why it held the number one spot on the R&B charts for three consecutive weeks. "I'm Ready," the title track, isn't as explosive as its predecessor, though both songs have a resemblance. The two singles to follow were "Always in My Heart" and "Don't Say Goodbye Girl." The former romances the heart with its comforting melody and supplicating lyric, while the latter is a mid-tempo number with a romantic lyric insulated with a pop texture. Prince, whose credit is listed as Paisley Park, also gives the project a funky edge with the unreleased numbers "Uncle Sam" and the grooving ballad "Shhh." There is much to savor on this album. ~ Craig Lytle

  • Critic Reviews
    Entertainment Weekly (10/29/93, p.64) - "...[Tevin Campbell's] voice, even at 16, is still cotton-candy sweet..." - Rating: A-
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $10.12
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for