CD Ian & Sylvia [1962] (CD 166466),
back to browsing

Ian & Sylvia [1962]

  • 1. Rocks and Gravel
    2. Old Blue
    3. C. C. Rider
    4. Canadien Errant, Un
    5. Handsome Molly
    6. Mary Anne
    7. Pride of Petrovar
    8. Makes a Long Time Man Feel Bad
    9. Rambler Gambler
    10. Down by the Willow Garden
    11. Got No More Home Than a Dog
    12. When First Unto This Country
    13. Live A-Humble
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 2113

  • Credits

    Personnel: Ian Tyson, John Herald (guitar); Sylvia Fricker (autoharp); Art Davis, Bill Lee (acoustic bass).
    Includes original by Nat Hentoff.
    Personnel: Ian Tyson (vocals, guitar); Sylvia Fricker (vocals, autoharp); John Herald (guitar); Art Davis , Bill Lee (upright bass).
    Liner Note Author: Nat Hentoff.
    Ian & Sylvia's debut album is their most standard affair, and indeed a fairly typical contemporary folk recording, with such traditional warhorses as "Rocks and Gravel" (also recorded, but not released, by Dylan during the same time), "C.C. Rider," and "Handsome Molly." What made the pair immediately distinctive was their superb vocal dueting, which was definitely a case of the sum being greater than its parts. Blended together, they canceled each other's weaknesses and gave the material great freshness and vigor. Ian's guitar and Sylvia's autoharp are backed by stellar playing from guitarist John Herald and string bassists Bill Lee (director Spike Lee's father) and Art Davis. ~ Richie Unterberger

0 Stars 0 average rating
  • Genre: Rock
  • Label: Vanguard 2113
  • Distributor: Welk
  • Analog/Digital: n/a
  • Mono/Stereo: Stereo
  • Studio/Live: Studio
  • UPC: 015707211321
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $13.06
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for