CD In Defense of the Genre [PA] (CD 1147020),
back to browsing

In Defense of the Genre [PA]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Skinny, Mean Man
    2. No Soul
    3. That Is Why
    4. Surgically Removing the Tracking Device
    5. This Is F***ing Ecstasy
    6. Church Channel, The
    7. Shiksa (Girlfriend)
    8. Baby Girl, I'm a Blur
    9. Retarded in Love
    10. People Like You Are Why People Like Me Exist
    11. Died a Jew
    12. Insult to the Dead, An
    13. Sorry, Dudes. My Bad.
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Spay Me
    2. In Defense of the Genre
    3. Truth Is, You Should Lie with Me, The
    4. Word You Wield, The
    5. Vexed
    6. About Falling
    7. You're the Wanker, If Anyone Is
    8. Spores
    9. We Killed It
    10. Have at Thee!
    11. Hangover Song
    12. Goodbye Young Tutor, You've Now Outgrown Me
    13. I Used to Have a Heart
    14. Plea
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 718701

  • Credits
    ProducerBrad Wood; Brad Wood
    EngineerBrad Wood; Ross Peterson; Andy Jackson

    Personnel: Max Bemis (vocals, guitar, mandolin, keyboards); Parker Case (vocals, guitar, keyboards); Jake Turner, Jeffrey Turner (vocals, guitar); Jacob Linder (vocals, drums, percussion); Caithlin De Marrais, Chris Carrabba, Adam Lazarra, Laura June Kirsch, Joshua Sultan, Michael Auerbach, Ken Vasoli, Matt Skiba, Andy Jackson, Pete Yorn, Anna Waronker, Gerard Way, Jordan Pundik, Chad Gilbert , Aaron Gillespie, Anthony Raneri, Fred Mascherino, Chris Conley, Anthony Green (vocals).
    DJ: DJ Swamp.
    Audio Mixer: Brad Wood .
    Illustrator: Jeff Smith .
    Photographer: Frank Ockenfels.
    Say Anything is nothing if not ambitious. The band's first album, IS A REAL BOY, is a rock opera complete with characters, a storyline, and grand theatrical flourishes. Their sophomore release, 2007's IN DEFENSE OF THE GENRE, is a sweeping double album that finds lead singer and songwriter Max Bemis breaking away from his punk-pop roots into stylistically adventurous territory. Whether it's churning post-punk ("Skinny, Mean Man"), swinging show tunes ("That Is Why"), orchestral psychedelic ballads ("Retarded in Love"), or incisive singer-songwriter pop ("Spores")--all of which are distinguished by Bemis's smart, emo-tinged lyrical sensibility-- Say Anything prove they're anything but another cookie-cutter emo-pop act.

  • Critic Reviews
    Spin (p.120) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "[W]ith its detours into slick synth pop, weepy roots rock, and big Broadway music, the sprawling GENRE proves that emo needn't be boxed in by stylistic dogma."
    Entertainment Weekly (p.67) - "Unexpected as they are, DEFENSE's sonic twists almost always work....This is gloriously conflicted pop for the musically omnivorous."
    Alternative Press (p.185) - 4.5 stars out of 5 -- "27 songs that celebrate the highest highs and lowest lows..."
    Kerrang (Magazine) (p.50) - "It's dramatic emo with a cheeky wit, the showtune swing of 'That Is Why' softening a vicious outpouring of bile..."
    Blender (Magazine) (p.150) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "Over two discs and 27 songs, Bemis nuttily injects R&B thump, techno throb, Queen-style chanting and folkie mandolin into his emo."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $14.07
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for