CD Jurassic Shift (CD 1311557),
back to browsing

Jurassic Shift

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Sun Hair
    2. Stretchy
    3. Feng Shui
    4. Half Light In Thilla
    5. Jurassic Shift
    6. Pteranodon
    7. Train Oasis
    8. Vita Voom
    9. Untitled Track
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Interview At Glastonbury Festival
    2. Vita Voom Video
    3. Jurassic Shift Live At Reading Festival
    4. Feng Shui Live At Manchester Academy
    5. Pteranodon Live At Manchester Academy
    6. Pongmaster's Ball Live At Brixton Academy
    7. Mill Studio, Somerset, The
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): SNP-CD-955

  • Credits

    The Ozrics were basically ready to take the world by storm once this recording surfaced in 1993, and though endless debate exists as to which album has yielded their finest moments, JURASSIC SHIFT certainly ranks right up there. A full-blown assault on the senses, all of the Ozrics' trademark motifs practically leap out of the speakers in all their explosive glory. Let fade the whispers of Gong, Steve Hillage, and Hawkwind-on JURASSIC SHIFT, the Ozrics came into their own element. From the burbling sequencer patterns, shuttlecraft synths, and arcing guitars of the opening "Sun Hair," to the intense jazzy spacerock of "Stretchy" (featuring some of Merv Pepler's most brilliant percussive moments--his sense of rhythmic timing and the fusillade of accents he adds is nothing short of breathtaking), and the awesome bassline walk of the title track, JURASSIC SHIFT fairly short-circuits your progressive rock fusebox. Dazzling in the extreme.

  • Critic Reviews
    Q (6/93, p.104) - 4 Stars - Excellent - "...Ozric Tentacles are the bastard offspring of progressive rock...[a] deeply funky, thoroughly absorbing, orchestrated chaos..."
    Melody Maker (4/24/93, p.33) - Recommended
    Record Collector (magazine) (p.97) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "[A] blend of spacey electric guitar and swirling, cascading synths and effects, rushing percussion and burbling rhythms."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $13.18
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for