CD Les Sables Magiques (CD 853928),
back to browsing

Les Sables Magiques

  • 1. Ring Sweet Mercy
    2. 6 Cats and a Podium
    3. Lonesome Road
    4. Lil-Lay Bank Blues
    5. Beau Soleil
    6. Don't Get the Music Worried
    7. Szabo Gabo
    8. Sables Magigues, Les
    9. Liberty Drawl
    10. Strange Meat
    11. Winter
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 33

  • Credits
    ProducerTricky Woo
    EngineerMoris Apelbaum

    Tricky Woo: Eric Larock (vocals, bass guitar); Patrick Conan (drums); Andrew Dickson.
    Personnel: Andrew Dickson (vocals, guitar); Phil Burns (vocals, background vocals); Johnathon Cummins (guitar).
    Additional personnel: Monica Gunter (violin, viola); Alex MacSween (percussion); Johnathon Cummins.
    Recording information: Silent Sound (09/2000).
    Les Sables Magique shows Tricky Woo refining their chops, mostly eschewing the really raw punk stylings of their past for a more sleazy rock & roll sound, more reminiscent of Lynyrd Skynyrd than MC5 or other garagey greats. It's possible that the reason for the change is the fact that this is their first release since the departure of second guitarist Adrian Popovich. They handle the new style handily enough, though fans of the earlier punkier style may be distressed -- punk was supposed to be a reaction to this type of music, after all -- especially on tracks like "Don't Get the Music Worried," which sounds frighteningly like a rocked-up Partridge Family. Scared? ~ Sean Carruthers

  • Critic Reviews
    Magnet (12-1/02, p.108) - "...A thrilling album..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $11.94
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for