CD Live at Earls Court (CD 270843),
back to browsing

Live at Earls Court

    1. How Soon Is Now?
    2. First of the Gang to Die
    3. November Spawned a Monster
    4. Don't Make Fun of Daddy's Voice
    5. Big Mouth Strikes Again
    6. I Like You
    7. Redondo Beach
    8. Let Me Kiss You
    9. Subway Train / Munich Air Disaster 1958
    10. There Is a Light That Never Goes Out
    11. More You Ignore Me, The Closer I Get, The
    12. Friday Mourning
    13. I Have Forgiven Jesus
    14. World Is Full of Crashing Bores, The
    15. Shoplifters of the World Unite
    16. Irish Blood, English Heart
    17. You Know I Couldn't Last
    18. Last Night I Dreamt That Somebody Loved Me
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 86012

  • Credits
    ProducerPeter Asher
    EngineerTim Summerhayes

    Personnel: Morrissey (vocals); Boz Boorer (guitar, clarinet, congas, background vocals); Jesse Tobias (guitar); Mikey V. Farrell (trumpet, keyboards, percussion, background vocals); Gary Day (bass guitar); Dean Butterworth (drums).
    Following his well-received 2004 comeback album, YOU ARE THE QUARRY, British rock icon Morrissey embarked on a lengthy tour. This live document presents the revered former Smiths singer performing at London's Earls Court in front of an adoring crowd of more than 17,000 people.
    Morrissey has no qualms about catering to Smiths fans, opening the set with a faithful rendition of "How Soon Is Now?" Backed by a top-notch five-piece band that includes his longtime guitarist Boz Boorer, Moz runs through numerous album tracks and B-sides from QUARRY, along with Smiths classics and cover tunes. Morrissey's mid-tempo, reggae-tinged take on Patti Smith's "Redondo Beach" provides a nice change of pace in the energetic set, and later, a wonderfully dramatic version of the New York Dolls' "Subway Train" is paired in a medley with the rare track "Munich Air Disaster 1958." Throughout the concert, Moz is at his crooning best, proving that he can still work fans into a frenzy almost 20 years after his heyday with the Smiths.

  • Critic Reviews
    Rolling Stone (p.70) - 3 stars out of 5 - "[Morrissey] heals some of the heartache by revisiting his old group's anthems in excellent swaggering renditions."
    Mojo (Publisher) (p.96) - 4 stars out of 5 - "[H]ugely persuasive....With Mozzer in excellent voice on five Smith songs and superior selections from YOU ARE THE QUARRY. All through he makes wondrous entertainment..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $18.98
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for