CD Live at the Greek Theater [Bonus DVD] [Digipak] (CD 6283888),
back to browsing

Live at the Greek Theater [Bonus DVD] [Digipak]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Likes of You Again, The
    2. Swagger
    3. Requiem for a Dying Song
    4. Man with No Country
    5. Every Dog Has Its Day
    6. These Exiled Years
    7. Drunken Lullabies
    8. You Won't Make a Fool Out of Me
    9. (No More) Paddy's Lament
    10. Us of Lesser Gods
    11. Son Never Shines, The (On Closed Doors)
    12. Float
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Tobacco Island
    2. Rebels of the Sacred Heart
    3. Devil's Dance Floor
    4. If I Ever Leave This World Alive
    5. Salty Dog
    6. Lightning Storm, The
    7. What's Left of the Flag
    8. Wrong Company, The
    9. Story So Far, The
    10. Seven Deadly Sins, The
    0. DISC 3:
    1. Flogging Molly Live at the Greek Theatre
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): SD1413

  • Credits
    ProducerJohnny Bouchard; Gary Schwindt; Ginny Song
    EngineerJohn Falzarano

    Personnel: Dennis Casey (acoustic 12-string guitar, electric guitar, background vocals); Robert Schmidt (banjo, mandolin, background vocals); Bridget Regan (fiddle, tin whistle, background vocals); Matthew Hensley (accordion, background vocals); George Schwindt (drums); Nathen Maxwell (background vocals).
    Audio Mixer: Ryan Hewitt.
    Recording information: The Greek Theatre, Los Angeles, CA (09/12/2009).
    Photographer: Lindsay Hutchens.
    At some point in the last five or ten years, Flogging Molly became the world's best rock-and-reel band, and perhaps one of America's best live bands in any genre. And here's one of their secrets: a bandleader who can be counted on to show up for gigs and isn't dead set on killing himself with laudanum and poitn. Dave King may not have the raw talent of Shane MacGowan, but genius is overrated in rock & roll; what makes a great band is mostly hard work, and very few bands have worked harder to become great than Flogging Molly. And on the evidence provided by this two-CD set (plus a DVD), they've made it. Live at the Greek Theatre is a tight, crunchy, raucous, but ultimately disciplined and professional celebration of punky Celtic-inflected pop music -- there are no instrumental sets, no jigs or reels, and the songs all seem to be originals, but the shapes of the melodies and certainly King's broad Dublin brogue add to the overall Irishness, as do Bridget Regan's fiddle and pennywhistle. The very large open-air venue was apparently filled to the rim with die-hard fans, who knew all the words to classic Flogging Molly songs like "Requiem for a Dying Song," "Float," "Salty Dog," "Drunken Lullabies," and, especially, "Seven Deadly Sins." The quality of the performances makes this set an excellent introduction to the band, and fans will be thrilled by both the sound and the performance quality. ~ Rick Anderson

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $11.75
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for