CD Live in Paris [Limited] (CD 344956),
back to browsing

Live in Paris [Limited]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Plain Tiffs
    2. All White
    3. Slightly All the Time
    4. Drop
    5. M.C.
    6. Out-Bloody-Rageous
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Facelift
    2. And Sevens
    3. As If
    4. LBO
    5. Pigling Bland
    6. At Sixes
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 13579

  • Credits

    Soft Machine: Elton Dean (saxello, alto saxophone, Rhodes electric piano); Mike Ratledge (electric piano, organ); Hugh Hopper (bass); John Marshall (drums).
    Recorded live in France.
    Soft Machine: Hugh Hopper (bass guitar); Elton Dean, John Marshall , Mike Ratledge.
    Personnel: Elton Dean (saxophone, alto saxophone, electric piano); Mike Ratledge (electric piano, organ); John Marshall (drums).
    Liner Note Author: Aymeric Leroy.
    Recording information: Paris, France (05/02/1972).
    Photographer: Jochen Monch.
    Saxophonist Elton Dean's last performance with Soft Machine, this concert was recorded live in Paris in May of 1972. The two-disc set draws largely from the albums FOUR and FIVE and finds the quartet indulging its improvisatory skills throughout.
    John Marshall's drumming easily moves from bedrock propulsion to exuberant and inventive explosions, while the familiar tones of Mike Ratledge's organ and electric piano and Hugh Hopper's trademark bass guitar tie the band sonically right back to its roots in Canterbury, England, six years previously. The sound throughout is sharp--this was a nicely recorded event--documenting the band's improvisations in clear detail.

  • Critic Reviews
    The Wire (p.60) - "The sound of the recording is clear, if not atmospheric, and the drums sound great..."
    JazzTimes (p.96) - "Dean's buzzing, terse saxello and soprano saxophone parts are the primary element here. Hopper and Ratledge give the music its character with brooding, simple vamps from the former and unsettled, churning chords from the latter."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $20.28
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for