CD Lost in My Dream: An Anthology 1968-1974 * (CD 4659752),
back to browsing

Lost in My Dream: An Anthology 1968-1974 *

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Weird
    2. Sunshine Help Me
    3. Society's Child
    4. It's All About a Roundabout
    5. Here I Lived So Well
    6. Tobacco Road
    7. Love Really Changed Me
    8. Luger's Groove
    9. Weight, The
    10. When I Get Home - (previously unreleased)
    11. Something Got into Your Life - (previously unreleased)
    12. Lost in My Dream - (First Mix, previously unreleased)
    13. Better by You, Better Than Me
    14. Waitin' for the Wind
    15. Feelin' Bad
    16. Evil Woman
    17. Hangman Hang My Shell on a Tree
    18. Oh! Pretty Woman
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Hosanna
    2. Wrong Time, The
    3. I Am the Walrus
    4. Son of Your Father
    5. Last Puff, The
    6. Wildfire
    7. Times Have Changed
    8. Cotton Growing Man
    9. Ocean of Power
    10. As Long as the World Keeps Turning
    11. Things Change
    12. Sunlight of My Mind
    13. Fantasy Satisfier
    14. Higher Circles
    15. Hell or High Water
    16. Mirror, The
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 2132

  • Credits
    ProducerChris Blackwell; Chris Stainton; Eddie Kramer; Gary Wright; Jimmy Miller; Pierre Henry

    Personnel: Mick Jones (vocals, guitar); Mike Patto, Gary Wright (vocals, keyboards); Mike Harrison (vocals); Chris Stainton (guitar, piano, organ, bass guitar); Henry McCulloch, Luther Grosvenor (guitar); Christopher "Tricky" Stewart, Andy Leigh, Greg Ridley, Val Burke, Alan Spenner (bass guitar); Mike Kellie, Bryson Graham (drums, percussion); Pierre Henry (electronics).
    Audio Remasterer: Ben Wiseman.
    Liner Note Author: Mark Powell.
    Recording information: Morgan Studios, London, England.
    It's reasonable, even logical, to question the need for a two-disc compilation from an early-'70s band that had negligible impact on the British or American charts or either of those country's musical sensibilities. But since 2000's THAT WAS YESTERDAY only covered the years ending with 1970's THE LAST PUFF, there was an opening, if maybe not a need, for a more extensive look at the act that finally called it quits after 1974's THE MIRROR. Also, since the band served as a breeding ground for musicians who went on to greater acclaim elsewhere (bassist Greg Ridley joined Humble Pie, guitarists Luther Grosvenor and Mick Jones followed with Mott the Hoople and Foreigner, respectively, and Gary Wright, who wrote the bulk of the group's material, went on to a solo career), Spooky Tooth is deserving of this comprehensive, 34-track, two-and-a-half-hour collection. Both Wright and vocalist/frontman Mike Harrison were captivating blue-eyed soul singers, the latter nearly the equal of, and very similar to, Steve Marriott. When they sang together and the material was of high enough quality, the effect was of a nascent Humble Pie with more soul and less boogie. Spooky Tooth's brooding, slow-to-midtempo blues-rock, tinged in the early years with more than a little psychedelia, was an intriguing concoction, especially when applied to covers such as their distinctive, and some might argue, definitive versions of Janis Ian's "Society's Child," blues staple "Tobacco Road" and "Evil Woman" (not the ELO song of the same title, but one best recognized through Canned Heat's rendition). A few rare singles and B-sides make an appearance along with a pair of previously unreleased songs circa 1968 on disc one. Disc two follows the latter part of Tooth's historical progression and is, despite no hits, also intermittently enticing. Interestingly, the final four tracks from 1974's unfairly overlooked THE MIRROR where lead singer Harrison was replaced by Boxer's Mike Patto, are some of the most commercial, melodic, and driving tunes the band recorded. A 16-page color booklet filled with excellent liner notes, detailed track annotation, rare photos, and an extensive history of the band help make this set the definitive profile of an act that, with a few more breaks, could have been a force to be reckoned with instead of a footnote to England's '70s blues-rock exports.

  • Critic Reviews
    Record Collector (magazine) (p.94) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "[T]heir power and musicianship has long attracted admirers, from Small Faces' Steve Marriott to Paul Weller."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $15.64
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for