CD Lost in Space [Aimee Mann] (CD 977658),
back to browsing

Lost in Space [Aimee Mann]

  • 1. Humpty Dumpty
    2. High on Sunday 51
    3. Lost in Space
    4. This Is How It Goes
    5. Guys Like Me
    6. Pavlov's Bell
    7. Real Bad News
    8. Invisible Ink
    9. Today's the Day
    10. Moth, The
    11. It's Not
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 007

  • Credits
    EngineerMike Denneen; Ryan Freeland; Chandler Travis

    Personnel includes: Aimee Mann (vocals, guitar, 6- & 12-string acoustic guitars, piano, bass, percussion, tambourine); Michael Lockwood (guitar, 12-string acoustic guitar, baritone guitar, slide guitar, dobro, zither, autoharp, celeste, chamberlin, omnichord, marxophone, harmonium, Mini-Moog synthesizer, Prophet synthesizer, theremin, bass, shakers); Jebin Bruni (piano, chamberlin, Prophet synthesizer); Mike Denneen (Wurlitzer piano, harpsichord); Patrick Warren (chamberlin); Dave Palmer (organ); Jason Falkner (bass); Ryan Freeland, Michael Penn (loops); John Sands (drums, shakers); Jay Bellerose (drums); Darian Sahanaja, Buddy Judge, Rusty Squeezebox, Mike Randle (background vocals).
    Producers: Michael Lockwood, Ryan Freeland, Mike Deneen.
    Recorded at Sonora Recorders, Hensons Recording Studio and Stampede Origin Studios, Los Angeles, California; Kampo, New York, New York; and QSound, Boston, Massachusetts.
    Personnel: Aimee Mann (vocals, guitar, acoustic guitar, acoustic 12-string guitar, electric guitar, piano, keyboards, acoustic bass, bass guitar, drums, clappers, tambourine, percussion, sound effects, background vocals); Michael Lockwood (guitar, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, 12-string guitar, slide guitar, baritone guitar, dobro, E-bow, autoharp, zither, celesta, harmonium, chamberlin, omnichord, keyboards, ARP synthesizer, mini-Moog synthesizer, clappers, shaker, loops, sound effects, Theremin); Darius Campo, Michele Richards, Susan Chatman (violin, bass violin); John Wittenberg, Joel Derouin, Peter Kent, Natalie Leggett, Berj Garabedian, Mario Diaz de Leon (violin); Armen Garabedian (bass violin); Carole Mukogawa, Denyse Buffum (viola); Larry Corbett, Dan Smith, Steve Richards (cello); Patrick Warren (strings, horns, chamberlin); Jebin Bruni (strings, piano, chamberlin); Joe Meyer (French horn); Mike Denneen (electric piano, harpsichord, Wurlitzer organ); Dave Palmer (organ); John Sands (drums, shaker); Jay Bellerose (drums); Seth McClain, Ryan Freeland (clappers); Darian Sahanaja, Mike Randle, Rusty Squeezebox, Buddy Judge (background vocals).
    Audio Mixers: Michael Brauer; Ryan Freeland.
    Recording information: Henson Recording Studios, Hollywood, CA; Kampo studios, New York, NY; Q Division; Sonora Recorders; Stampede Origin Studios.
    Illustrator: Seth Evans.
    Unknown Contributor Roles: Seth Evans; Michael Lockwood.
    Arranger: Mike Denneen.
    Given a set of trials and tribulation that could have been created by Charles Dickens, that fact that Aimee Mann keeps recording albums is something of a surprise, though certainly not an unwelcome one. With her record label problems behind her, LOST IN SPACE is her fourth solo album (not including her contributions to the MAGNOLIA soundtrack). The tracks combine an acoustic sensibility that highlighting Mann's expressive guitar work with occasional an understated electric edge that includes shimmering distortion, all in the service of her rich voice and eloquent lyrics. Standouts include: "Lost in Space," which features a slow, rolling beat and an insistent string section; "Pavlov's Bell," with its alternately plaintive and searing guitar accents; "Invisible Ink," a quietly introspective track that builds to include an orchestral backing; and the comparatively uptempo "The Moth," with background instrumentation from harpsichords and keyboards.

  • Critic Reviews
    Spin (10/02, p.114) - 6 out of 10 - "...[The album] maps the mazes that lovers lead each other through..."
    Entertainment Weekly (8/23/02, p.142) - "...Mann's put a bit more oomph into her songs, adding a touch of guitar fuzz and a dash of controlled chaos in the rhythm section..." - Rating: B+
    Q (10/02, p.112) - 4 stars out of 5 - "...Songs which are wry, funny, adult and perceptive, all wrapped up in handsome melodies....It has the unmistakable aroma of a talent renewing itself..."
    Uncut (10/02, p.108) - 4 stars out of 5 - "...Perfect three-minute slices of classy pop heaven...effortlessly soaring melodies."
    Mojo (Publisher) (p.58) - Ranked #69 in Mojo's "100 Modern Classics" -- "Mann constructed a narcotised song-cycle of obsession, addiction and depression: pop bliss cut with the brick dust of wearied experience."
    Mojo (Publisher) (1/03, p.75) - Ranked #23 in Mojo's "Best Albums of 2002"
    Mojo (Publisher) (10/02, p.98) - "...An album that gets to the dark heart of just what that bright flame of love does to our stupid moth dreams..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $13.44
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for